SlopDonalds

in #food5 years ago (edited)

I ate at McDonalds last week...WTF! I didn't go momentarily insane...Or maybe I did. It was one of those times when I had to eat and that's what happened to present itself on my way to where I had to go. The last time I ate there was early 2018 so clearly I don't go there a lot. After eating the sloppy shit they served me, a Big Mac meal, I recalled vividly why I don't go there. So, there you have it, a confession of sorts.

I walked into the store and saw the row of self-order screens they have and ignored them - I prefer a more social interaction when I order my Big Mac's don't you know, so proceeded to the counter. As I was walking there something struck me as odd...There were no cash registers to be seen. So where was I supposed to place my order? A moment of panic set in that I may not get my socially-interactive ordering-experience as above. [Sarcasm.] Anyway, relentless in my pursuit of a socially-rewarding-experience I went to the very small, bare, counter and there it was hidden down low well out of sight, one cash register. im src (No it's not from SlopDonalds.)

I waited five minutes - it seemed no one was interested in taking a manual order, then got served by disinterested, oily, dirty-looking moody adolescent who made no eye contact, didn't smile or greet me and mumbled my order back so unintelligibly that I had no idea what I ordered. I paid cash just to see the horror on the late-teens' face at having to work out the change from $15 for my $10.80 order. Oh the horror of having to think. I went away to await my fucked-up burger which I regretted eating the moment I completed it like I knew I would. Par for the McDonalds course I would say.

What occurred to me is that it seems we are being conditioned to placing our own orders, paying with a card and not having any real human interaction. A state of play replicated throughout so many industries where automation is taking over human jobs. How long before a machine makes the burger and brings it to the table? It would probably better than the crap I got served though I guess.

Anyway, my Big Mac and my entire experience at MacDonalds was terrible. Neither were anything like the commercials on TV and to be honest I don't know how they continue to get away with serving slop and offering such a poor service in general, however I guess that's indicative of society where quality seems to have no value anymore.

At least they provide jobs for young people.

Whilst I was at SlopDonalds I counted six uber-eats food-couriers walk in to pick up orders...One of the jobs created by the lazy-tech-loaded-world we live in. I wonder how many people aspire to be an uber food delivery person?...Dream job, young people! Dream job..Don't plan for your future, there's loads of jobs waiting for you at Uber. Don't bother applying at McDonalds or many of the other traditional employers...No humans required...No quality required either obviously.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default and aim small, miss small.
Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

Got KFC last weekend - more uber eats drivers in there than actual customers picking up orders. I was ... astonished.

That's what I thought in SlopDonalds the other day...Won't be long and it'll be the only job available. The have's and have not's...Do you have an Uber-food-collector or not? The latest must-have accessory.

There is this incredible invention - its found in many homes. It's called a stove. Many meals can be prepared upon it.

Millennial - "What is this altar that weeps fire?"

Haha...Yeah, I know right? It ain't gonna end here though...Stay tuned, just when you think you've seen it all...

Those machines are germ magnets. I only do drive thru now. There will come a time when that is self serve too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

germ magnets.

Exactly.

The drive though is ok...Problem for me is they make those things so small so they can fit the outlet on small pieces of land. I drive a 200 Series Landcruiser...They fit, but barely. I'd rather head down to the local independent fish and chip shop and get a burger there...Or a yiros (kebab depending where in Aus you are)...They are legit too!

Yep much prefer my local fish and chip shop or charcoal chicken and chips 🇦🇺. I’m in ALBURY @galenkp

Good spot Albury! Yep, the old charcoal chicken and chips huh? Yum! Gotta have chicken salt on the chips though.

In my experience McDonalds has improved over time. In some countries they make their burgers from organically farmed meat.

I have eaten McDonalds in many countries and I will admit there have been times when it has been passable...Not last week though. Besides, I can hardly abide the service there, even if the food is passable. Best avoided I think, for me at least. I prefer Burger King (We call it Hungry Jacks) and even then very rarely.

In the US I liked Wendy's more.

Posted using Partiko Android

We don't have Wendy's here...Well, not as a burger place...It's an ice cream shop here. We have Nordburger and Grill'd though and a heap of small boutique burger places...That's where I'd rather go. Love me a good old burger.

I used to take the grand kids there and they never got the order right. They always screwed something up. I wasn't sure if it was because they were brain dead or they were hoping to get fired so they could collect unemployment.

was because they were brain dead or they were hoping to get fired so they could collect unemployment.

Sadly, probably both.

2 weeks ago or so Roundhere and I went into a McDonalds and had almost this exact same experience. If I have to eat McDs I prefer to use the drive up window. What I don't know doesn't hurt me.

We rarely eat junkfood and there was a time that a Big Mac was a treat. Now it is a last resort! :)

Now it is a last resort!

I was wearing a pair of 5.11 boots...They would have been better to eat I think, but they cost me so much!

I agree though, it is a last-resort food and that's exactly why I was there. The drive-through is a better option - The old head in the sand ploy ,although the food is the same and you know what Leo Getz/Joe Pesci said in Lethal Weapon about the drive through right? The video will explain...

I remember the last time I tried it was for a salad to maintain my diet and it was horrible as well. I imagine that they have taken fast to another level and disregarded quality.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't think anything on their menu is actually all that fit to be considered healthy. They're pitching themselves as the one-stop-shop for families with all sorts of things available. An investigation into their commercials will demonstrate that as they pitch to a very broad market and have almost everything on there.

I recall a movie set in the future with Sly Stallone, Sandra Bullock and Wesley Snipes in which every restaurant was called Taco Bell - Was it Demolition Man? Anyway, that's what ShitDonalds is going for and the sheeple are playing along like good little lemmings.

Lol handed him cash to make him have to actually think and I do the same🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

It's so easy to get these young people flummoxed isn't it? :)

Yes😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I have so much time that I don't eat in McDonald's ... The last time I did it, about 6 years ago, the food gave me horrible indigestion, and now just seeing that food makes me nauseous.

I must have some sort of memory disorder. The last time I ate there, early 2018, I remember it being terrible...Then there I was last week eating it again. When will I ever learn. Still...Once a year isn't so bad. I know people who eat it daily.

You ordered the Secret Sarcasm Sauce by the sound of it. 😆

My daughter loves... L O V E S ... Big Macs!

Yeah, I have a phD in sarcasm from Harvard....I'm good at it, I have to say.

People say it's the lowest form of whit...I say ah ha! So, you agree that it is indeed a form of whit. Good enough for me. Some hate it I guess...label those who use it as unintelligent. All good, I'm ok with that. :)

I prefer a Whopper from Hungry Jacks (Burger King) than a Big Mac, but rarely have either. Nordburgers are good though!

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80