Nendra Banana Phodi #Food

in #food5 years ago

Hi Guys... Here I am with a plate full of 'Phodi' or 'Bhujias' made with this Kerala Banana or Nendra Banana!!...

As I was busy with some other work, I couldn't take step by step pics while making this phodi today.

87qdlpp3o0.jpg

These are called Kerala Bananas or Nendra Bananas...

ajn3bb0wal.jpg
I forgot to take a pic of these bananas before cutting them. So this photo is from source...

So... I am here with the recipe!:).

Ingredients
Medium ripe nendra banana - 2 or 3.
Maida - 1 cup
Cumin seeds - 1teaspoon
Turmeric powder - 1/4 teaspoon
Salt for taste

Method:
Cut the bananas into thin slices, lengthwise.
Mix the above ingredients in some water to make a smooth paste as it looks like a dosa batter.
Dip the banana pieces into this batter and deep fry on both sides in Coconut Oil
Here frying in coconut oil is a must.

Serve with coconut chutney!

Note
Actually maida is not good for health. But to make this Bhujias in Kerala' style, we have to use maida.
But we can substitute maida with gram flour and rice flour by mixing the 2 in equal proportion, which is good for health.

I hope we get these big Kerala bananas everywhere. Hope you liked this post.

With much love and regards, @geetharao...

Sort:  

Hey @geetharao,

You have been gifted an upvote by the Mysteemversary bot in celebration of your steem account's birthday.

Your account is now 2 years old!

🎂 🎂 Happy Steemversary  🎂 🎂

Thanks for sticking around this long and believing in the future of this community.


My Steemversary is a smart bot that rewards active steemians on their account's anniversary. We use a bunch of tools to filter out inactive/blacklisted users and bots. Our goal is to gift these users a decent upvote. Please consider helping us grow by delegating to our bot [5SP10SP25SP50SP100SP500SP1000SPCustom Amount] or by simply upvoting this comment.

A Very Happy Steemversary to you @geetharao!
Wish your blog soars to new heights with every new post you publish!

Keep blogging!

Thank you so much @xyzashu... 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

A great recipe @geetharao, and since I love bananas very much, I will definitely try your dish!

Thanks di I am finding here a new south Indian dish 👌👌👌 looking testy I will try suer this.

Posted using Partiko Android

What an interesting and mouth-watering recipe!
Can you describe, how these Kerala bananas different than those other bananas generally available in the market? Couldn't these bananas be substituted for these nendren bananas?

Also, do you have any recipe for using the peels of bananas? If so, do share that too some day. Thanks in advance!

Thank you for reading my blog... These kerala or Nendra Banana is bit different from the usual ones. It is bit harder, has got a slightly orange color inside and a particular flavor which the other bananas are not having. Once when I couldn't get these, I have tried making this Phodi or Bhujias with the smaller, normally getting bananas, but the taste as well as flavor differed a lot and I couldn't get even the near-taste!!. These are big and heavy and we get just 4 or 5 in one Kg. (for INR. 50 to 60 at Mangalore).

And now about the peals... I have not tried any recipe so far. But I am not throwing the peals of any bananas. These are rich in phosphorus, magnesium and other nutrients. So I cut them neatly and mix with used tea leaves or egg shells which makes a good quality' home made manure for my plants.:)
You may get some recipes in YouTube, I think...

Fantastic! I love banana and this recipe looks simple.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

wow, awesome! food is life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02