Panhandler Pies

in #food6 years ago

A Something Old, Something New, And Something Reminiscent Restaurant Review


IMG_2115.JPG


Even though I grew up wandering all over the Pacific Northwest and Alaska, the Idaho Panhandle has always been one of those repeatedly traveled crossroads in my life. My Papa was born in Moyie Springs which is so far north in the Panhandle that it is almost Canada, and a swath of my dad's family has dwelt in burgs from Careywood to Hayden over the last couple of decades. That said, I have been traversing through Sandpoint for many, many years, and one of the first landmarks that one beholds when they cruise into that fine town is a restaurant aptly named Panhandler Pies.

IMG_2119.JPG

I have quite literally drove by the restaurant thousands of time, but until last Saturday had NEVER eaten there. Shocking I know! I mean, the place has the word PIE in their name, attendance and munching should have been a no-brainer. I just haven't ever crossed the threshold.

I think part of the reason why I personally have never graced the restaurant with my presence stems from another pie joint happening. When I was sixteen I competed in the Science Olympiad at Montana State University. A couple of other students and I were tasked with building a clock that kept accurate time using water. It was a kick. There was a botany competition involved as well, but what I honestly remember most was the pies. Our school gave the three of us girls our own hotel room, a food stipend, and very little supervision. Hair was dyed and then there was the pie. Right next to the hotel was a restaurant that was pie-centric. Being sixteen and in possession of a little bit of freedom, we did the only logical thing we could do with our food stipends, we went next door and spent the whole lot on pies, lots of them. By the end of our three day foray into Bozeman I never wanted to see let alone eat another sweet pie ever again. I still get a bit green around the gills when I think about it.

IMG_2105.JPG

Moving on, one of our dearest friends apparently got wind of our Panhandler Pie attendance deficit and a couple of weeks ago presented us with a gift certificate to the place. As it is spring and farm to-do task time on overdrive, we decided to hit the restaurant up for some grub last Saturday morning as we ran a plethora of homestead errands. It was not very busy when we walked in the door, and were seated by the most lovely waitress ever. Her name was Yellowbird, and she was one of those waitresses that paid attention to you without being overly into your space and time. Plus, she had the coolest name ever and a laugh like melted dark chocolate trickling over rock candy.

IMG_2103.JPG

The nice thing about Panhandler Pies is that you can order off of the whole menu any time of the day. When you have kids that prefer sandwiches and chicken strips over traditional breakfast food that feature is appreciated. My husband likes to have an occasional Murican breakfast and partook in a plate full of carbs, fat, and protein that left him grinning like a cat in a pigeon coop. Me, well, I still am not a fan of sweet pies, but as some of you know, I love me some quiche, and that is what I ordered, Quiche Lorraine. Interestingly enough, my quiche was to come with a big square of homemade cornbread and quaintly enough, an apple!

IMG_2110 (2).JPG

Usually I don't eat a lot of starch, but there was no way that I was going to pass on homemade cornbread. The thing about cornbread is that I detest dry crumbly cornbread. It needs to be moist and springy to the touch. I started smiling as soon as Yellowbird sat my plate in front of me, for the chunk of cornbread facing me met the proper texture requirements. You can bet I made purring noises as I inhaled that butter and honey slathered goodness!

IMG_2111.JPG

My quiche was pretty tasty and as hot as a freshly blistered sunspot. Everyone's food was rather good in a wholesome, country kitchen sort of way. In fact, that is what I enjoyed about the place, it was like eating at Grandma's house. There was a lot of food, a homey atmosphere, and very attentive service. I honestly was waiting for someone to show up and tell me to go wash my hands before and after I ate. In fact, it wouldn't have felt out of place to play a game of Aggravation after the food part was done.

IMG_2112.JPG

Things got even better when the kid's slices of pie were placed in front of them. One ordered peanut butter chocolate and the other ordered mud pie. Both slices were excellent so I was told. The visuals of the pies were reminiscently close to my Bozeman Pie Experience, so I took their word for it regarding pie excellence. My son has a very discriminating pie palate, so I take it as a good sign that he inhaled his slice.

IMG_2113.JPG

And on that note, if you are in the mood for a grandparent's house atmosphere, to have your belly filled, and to not spend a fortune, then I recommend a foray into Panhandler Pies if you happen to be in Sandpoint, Idaho.


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's super fly for not eating a pie iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

Next time I'm in N.I., I'm checking this place out. And eating enough pie to get full-on sick of it, is a LOT of pie. Amazing, particularly when 16 and iron-gutted, but what fun getting there. I guess that's what they call a gooeysweet's mental emetic.
I think you're onto something here too. The GK Grandma's restaurant. Great food, lots of desserts and rich food, reminders to wash up before and after, (got a major kick out of that one), a tooth-brush station, then games of Parcheesi, Risk, Aggravation, and for those REALLY liking the place, and going to 'stay over' for breakfast, Monopoly. All played in the parlor. Accompanied as a snack by covered glass dishes of hard ribbon or lemondrop candy, and a LOT of laughter and lots of stories told.
You have to wait 40 more years though, so you actually look like a grandma. OK, more like fifty. Cheers to you and your day.

Ooh, I can't wait to someday read the Panhandle Pie Binge Chronicles!

And you know what? The Grandma Gastropub and Game Parlour sounds like a happening joint! I might have laughed a good fifteen minutes over the Monopoly and ribbon candy observations, don't forget the hard strawberry candy with the squishy middle, LOL LOL! A puzzle on a card table in the corner for decoration and authenticity is essential, oh DD, that sort of place would be marvelous.

I owe you a million digital hugs for giving me a few decades before I would achieve a grandma-like visage, but alas it might be true. My mom is almost sixty and people think she is in her late thirties, so at that rate I might be matronly in about 40 years. At least I will have an old age plan! There will always be a slice of pie for you at my Kat Kafe:o)

That quiche looked blimmen gorgeous.The melted cheese just made my belly smile but my heart scared.lmao. It looked like my grannies home.Just needs the net curtain and where good to go.

I like the very homely atmosphere.Seemed like it was that relaxed you would lay your own table.lol.

I am surprised you did not go before considering the clear advertising of pie.I swear use make the best pies.Ours are just not the same here in the UK.I would have devoured the whole lot!

Ahh! Pam! How are you? You have been missed round these parts:o)! I snorted into my cherry yogurt when I read the net curtains bit. Grams really know how to rock the drapery, LOL!

I think a @pamcooks US pie research road trip is in order. There's fifty states worth of pie delicacies to try!

And I really did enjoy the pie place's homey atmosphere and will return for some more encrusted treats, that quiche was especially fine. I go all Wallace and Gromit when I see cheese, yay! Hope you are doing well my friend!

I am infatuated with cheese.Love the stuff.I look forward to christmas so i can get my hands on the most amazing cheeseboards.My fave is melted camembert with tons of garlic.

Yeh literally been so busy with my lil bambinos.Organised two birthday parties for my son.My eldest has had her exams this week.Shes only 6.Been helping her revise without knowing shes being tested.Blimmen ekk Kat i am not the best person to help when I was even struggling with her mock papers😂😂.

It has actually been 12 days since i last posted a recipe. Not good that is.Defo rareing to go now.In the words of Arnie i'll be back ( on the old steem)

Net curtains.Oh the worst thing about my nans drapery, no matter how much you washed them they always had the coffee stained musty look to them.lol

Oooh you need to post a good pie recipe.Like a lemon pie with layers of cream if you get a chance.If not post your findings on the pie places you visit.So i can sit there and salivate while i am eating a plain digestive biscuit.Hope all is well at your end hun. 🤗

Just about to head off to bed. Very pleased I caught you post before I turned in. Of course, now I am singing 'yellowbird, up high in banana tree'. The Chris Issak version is amazing if you haven't heard it.

Never been a huge fan of pie. When I was younger, sweetened and cooked fruit just didn't appeal to me. But I have come to like bumble berry, pecan, and lemon pie. Very specific pie tastes ... I know. Your quiche looked amazing and I feel the same way about cornbread:) Wishing you a wonderful night:)

Ahh, Chris Isaak, lol, I think I saw that Wicked Games music video of his at least ten thousand times when I was a youth. I will have to give a listen to the yellowbird containing lyric diddy of his!

I'm always so pleased to see you've stopped by, and it's funny, I didn't really like sweet pies when I was a kid, but have grown to love them as I've gotten older, especially stevia sweetened one's, like blackberry! Yum! Pecan is another favorite of mine too! Honestly though, as you can probably tell, I am much more of a savory pie gal.

I had a fantastic night, got to watch my horse be trained after work, my friend cooked me dinner, and I got to do this really rare thing, sleep in! WOW! Hope your day is going splendid!

A sleep in is always nice ... :):):)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Wow! Thank you! As a food lover, Steemit adorer, and absolute curation fanatic, I will do my best to wander over and do my bit! You are appreciated!:o)

I have passed by this numerous times, and have been curious every time...

LOL! I know what you mean, it only took me about twenty-five years to walk in the door...You can do it!

Today I learned the main difference between me and @generikat. Being 16 with a hotel room, money and little supervision she overdosed on pie. I would have ended up drunk in the bathtub. Of course I may have had some pie too, I gotta eat.

Ahh Chops, I would have just given you a slice to eat while you were languishing in the bathtub, ha ha!

In all honesty, I grew up around such a huge batch of heathens that I was a touch Neo-Victorian in my youth, just one that played varsity sports and wore neon bellbottoms twenty years after they were fashionable;o) For some strange reason I feel like you and my Dad would have got into mischief, he was slightly wild, in a stealing the school dumptruck and dumping toilets all over the highway, punching in Camaro windshields, inebriated softball tournament shenanigans sort of way. LOL!

We have not actually eaten there either. With my little one's allergies it would be abuse to take her to a pie shop even just for a meal. They have that glass case just sitting there to taunt you.

Anyway, we have, however, had one of their pies. Here's a really old post about that experience:

https://steemit.com/life/@crowbarmama/the-best-banana-cream-pie-story-ever

You know what is needed? A food joint that serves food for the rest of us! I have healed my gut enough that I can occasionally foray into normal food land, but honestly it would be nice to have a place that had some options for your little one, low carb choices, gluten free, etc. There are a lot of people out there that have to or choose to eat differently for health reasons, as your whole family well knows:o)

I'm gonna go wander into banana cream pie post land now, LOL! Hope you are having a great day despite the growing rain outside!

Yet another restaurant I've never visited! Thanks to your report, I already know what I am going to order.

Ooh! I am so looking forward to your future analysis!

Oh yeah that is my kind of place. I would have laid money down that it was going to be good just from the looks of it outside! Give me some wood covered walls, a friendly waitress and some decent sized portions and I am in heaven!

Are you a plain or sweetened cornbread kind of gal? I will take either, especially if moist, but I lean towards the sweet if given the choice.

What a shame to not partake in those lovely pies, but I get it...paying for past misdeeds and all lol.

It is a pretty cool looking restaurant for sure!

I am like you, I swing both ways in cornbread composition land, as long as the stuff is not drier than kiln dried lumber, blech. Nothing is better than some moist buttermilk cornbread with honey and butter on it, super yum!

LOL! Enough time has passed that I am considering diving back into the pie game, we'll see how it goes, ha ha!

Oh the mudpie looks delectable! 😮

But did they have any of the namesake panhandler pie?

They didn't! In fact, I don't think I have ever heard of a panhandler pie flavor, now I am super curious!

And that mud pie was super gorgeous and apparently, according to my daughter, quite tasty:o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87