Colourful Beans and Rice in Nepal

in #food6 years ago


Beans and Rice in Nepal


More from my Nepalese stash. This market seller in Kathmandu makes a interesting picture with his colourful sacks of beans and rice.

There are so many interesting street vendors and little shops in Nepal's capital city. It's easy to spend many pleasant hours browsing.

My very favourite shop sold beautiful hand made papers and items created from them. I bought some gorgeous lamp shades for the kids there. Sadly they have long since perished although they've would have grown out of them by now anyway. My son, however, still has the prayer flags I bought him!

Kathmandu Beans.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

I love Nepal and its markets. The colors, the smells, the friendly people so happy to answer any of my silly questions... the main one being "What is it?!"
Lovely photo :)

Thanks @osm0sis. I love Nepal too. I went on my own and would love to go back and take John with me. He'd love it too I'm sure. 😁

That's a lot of different kinds of beans and rice. Never thought about going to Nepal. What drew you to it, especially by yourself? Beans and rice? I'm guessing there's more. :)

More what @glenalbrethsen? 😊

After my son was born I was very depressed and I wasn't getting any better. When he was coming up to seven my mum was so worried about me she offered to move into the house for a month to look after the kids so I could get away.

She suggested going to stay with some friends of mine in the States but I felt I needed to do something way out of my normal life. So I started looking at adventure travel and found a small group walking tour in Nepal that was at the right time.

I booked flights, went on the tour and then stayed on for another three weeks.

I loved it there and came back, if not restored, at least refreshed and able to carry on.

More to the story than beans and rice! And there was! Wow. Well, I'm sad to hear about the depressive state you were in and how long it lasted, but I am glad you were able to get away for a time, get rejuvenated and refreshed, and get back to life. That is amazing.

I have nothing in my life to compare it to. It's interesting how life works sometimes. How the negative experiences we have can ultimately turn into positive ones through taking some chances.

What struck me when I was writing my reply and casting my mind back was how I even had the energy to arrange such a trip @glenalbrethsen. I think things were just so bad that I was really, really desperate to break the cycle.

I do remember that saying goodbye to John when he dropped me at the airport was one of the hardest things I've ever done. Brings tears to my eyes, just writing about it, all these years later.

I guess there are just some things that we have to do on our own. As much as relationships we have with others are important and deep, we are still individuals, and so we do what we have to do. I'm sure John hated to see you go then, but I'm sure he's overjoyed that you were able to come back in a better frame of health. I'm sure he wants you to be happy, even if there are the times when he can't provide it.

And distance, as they say, has a way of making the heart grow fonder, and the mind tends to wander to those things that matter most, once it's had a time to reflect and heal.

I've found myself on both ends of that one. It doesn't feel very good to start, but taking a little time to just get right with life and ourselves and whatever else may be involved is the best thing we can do for ourselves and our loved ones going forward, even if it is painful then and now. You know this, but I'm going to say it anyway. You made the hard choice, but you did the right thing.

Wow! Can sooooo relate to what you shared, @gillianpearce. I was totally overwhelmed and depressed after the birth of my second child.

So happy your mother was able to step in and that you opted for a small, out-of-the-box travel option. And happy it refreshed.

Never been on a small group walking tour. When I'm ready to try that, may look to see what's available in Nepal thanks to your share. Always wanted to go there.

Hmmm. Not sure I would call it a "small, out-of-the-box travel option" @angelacs. Once the walk was finished I spent three weeks travelling around on my own. 😁

Definitely put Nepal on your travel list. It's wonderful!

found a small group walking tour in Nepal

Sorry... was referring to this part of what you said, @gillianpearce rather than the even more awesome 3 weeks on your own. I related to that too because that's how I usually absorb a new place that I visit.... just didn't mention that part above. ;)

Also, my apologies. I'm learning to use Busy.org and I missed upvoting this post earlier. Took care of that when I noticed over on Steemit after seeing your reply...

No need to apologise for anything @angelacs. It's all good! 😍

Thank you for the upvote. I appreciate it. But don't worry if you miss some. Managing our voting power is important I think, so some days I find I can vote more than others. I know that's true for everybody! 😁

Thanks, @gillianpearce.

Managing our voting power is important I think

Yes, that's actually why I am learning to use Busy.org. Wasn't doing so well managing my voting power and Busy has the slider thingy. It's been a big help but I can't wait to get to 500 SP goal so I can just use Steemit for commenting and interacting... much easier than the switching back and forth. ;)

Yep. I found busy.org made a huge difference to me @angelacs. I have steemworld.org open all the time so I can do a quick check on my voting power.

However, even when my SP hit 500 I found I'm still having to go back and forth because, although Steemit gives you the slider, it doesn't tell you the value of the vote.

So I have to check in busy to make sure I'm using the right percentage to give a comment a 3c upvote, for example.

The percentage I need to use changes based on the price of Steem and how much voting power I have at the time!

Great question that elicited a wonderful story, @
glenalbrethsen. Thanks for asking.

I'm glad I did. It was a great story. I'm so glad it worked out, too. Nepal's not on my list of places to travel, though. :) If I'm going out of the box, it would probably be to Belize, Costa Rica or somewhere closer to the equator.

Rice is my favourite food

so simple and so beautiful

thank you @steven-patrick. Glad you think so! 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-03T15:40:48
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1599.09/1600.00
Total Photos: 179
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Had to come over to visit and greet you properly on your own blog after chatting just now at @dragosroua, Gillian. ;)

As I said in earlier comment, I've always wanted to go to Nepal. And that lovely pic with such a great variety of beans and rice... reminds me of our markets here in Jamaica. Looking at enlarged pic just made me want to go walking in one of our markets! ;)

Thanks so much and happy to 'meet' you.

Happy to "meet" you too @angelacs. Thank you for visiting! 😍

This is gorgeous quite a capture. Never been to Nepal looks like they have an amazing culture.

Thank you @watersnake101. Yes it is an amazing culture and well worth a visit! 😊

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25