Garbanzo Bean Chocolate cake (gluten free)

in #food6 years ago

Now for something completely different... A gluten free chocolate 'cake', which actually has the consistency of a brownie.

So I have limited my wheat/flour intake to reduce my gluten intake. This reduces inflammation in the body and I can vouch for that fact. I had soreness in my left knee due to a lot of cycling over the years and was looking for ways to reduce inflammation, one of them was to reduce wheat/flour so I tried it.

This is a recipe that I found from allrecipes.com with the title 'Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten free)'.
slice1.png

SteemLineBreak.jpg

It is very easy to make as it has just a few ingredients. (If I can make it, so can you) That is if you like Chocolate and a dessert that is pretty healthy.

  • 1.5 Cups of semi sweet dark chocolate chips. I used the Ghirardelli 60% cacao
  • 1, 19oz can of organic garbanzo beans (I had a 15oz can, so I opened another)
  • 4 eggs
  • A little more than a 1/4 cup sugar (The original recipe calls for 3/4 cup)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup almond flower (I added this, it is not in the original recipe)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla (I added this, it is not in the original recipe)
    ingrediants.jpg

Throw all of the ingredients in a food processor except for the chocolate chips which I melted in the microwave in a pyrex cup.
firstblend.jpg

You should have a smooth consistency after blending. If it is not blended until smooth, there will be small bits of garbanzo beans in the cake. (Don't ask me how I know that)
firstblenddone.jpg

You pour in the melted chocolate into the first blend and have another go at it.
secondblend.jpg

Pour the blend into a 9" cake pan and put it in the oven at 350* for 40 minutes.
readyoven.jpg

After removal from the oven, let it cool for ~1 hour.
doneandcut.jpg

SteemLineBreak.jpg

I brought it into work and it was gone pretty quick, I got one piece and it was as good as I remembered. (I made it initially about 2 years ago) People ask for the recipe and cannot believe that it is made from Garbanzo beans...

I will probably add xanthan gum next time in an attempt to get a little more rise out of it. As mentioned, it is more of a crumbly brownie texture rather than a cake as there is no gluten, so not much rise. Also no sponginess...

It goes well with a good cup of black coffee, Bon appetit!
slice1.png

Sort:  

Combination of good ingredients and a great recipe...Looks delicious

wow.
thank you for sharing this cake reciepie..i will try.....

Your chocolate cake look very tasty. I love chocolate cake.

Me too, I just have to limit myself!

Hello Glenolua,

Garbazo bean chocolate cake sounds too rich for me.

I would not take time to make it.

I f someone made it for me I would eat it.

haha, it is not too rich at all. The dark chocolate chips have most of the fat, the beans have protein. It's the clean up that takes time...

You got a 1.96% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

wow sir nice chocolate cake kit up nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25