19th Hole Bar and Grill - Chiang Mai : Nice selection of drinks and friendly staff... "meh" pizza

in #food5 years ago

I think the name kind of gives away the fact that this place is designed to cater to the golfing community. There are several golf courses in the region and this place brings them in after a round - it's a relatively common naming convention to score customers around the globe and I believe it is a smart one.

19642231_355857244832065_6206356495330219511_n.jpg

As is tradition in the suburban parts of Chiang Mai, this place also has a very large menu that caters to mostly the western palate. There are some Thai options but for the most part the Thai dishes can be aquired for significantly less money at nearby Thai restaurants so people tend to stick to the pizzas, pastas, baguettes, and salads. This is fine with me because I tend to enjoy all of those things.

13923486_186509785100146_4035979210153089142_o.jpg

They have a bunch of beers from all over the world in massive fridges and wide variety of cocktails to choose from that they make quite well. I can always judge a place based on their margaritas because in Thailand there is always a chance that the place is going to over-use the sweet aspect of any cocktail. In my mind this ruins a margarita. However, the owner of this place has trained his staff well because the margarita was done perfectly with just the right amount of sweet and a salt-rimmed glass. I really enjoy the fact that they have San Miguel Light on draft because this is very rare and the low-carb content fits right in with my ongoing diet.

53537432_670613940023059_3395708677313789952_o.jpg

There is an indoor and an outdoor dining area and the sliding doors can be shut to accommodate the hot season when the powerful air-conditioners are switched on.

As mentioned before the menu is immense and the prices are actually quite low considering what you receive for your money. This seems to be a recurring theme for the few expat-oriented pubs and restaurants in the suburbs of Chiang Mai.

14359091_211267889291002_892843992994057407_n.jpg

I regret to inform that the pizza is a bit strange and therefore not something I will order again. I don't know how they managed it but the sauce tastes sweet and is just strange. It kind of ruined the experience for me. To be honest it tasted as though the sauce wasn't home made but was rather something they got from the store (not that I have a problem with that ,but sweetness on a pizza, to me, is a game-ender.)

Overall, i would return here for the camaraderie and once again the owners were very welcoming and the place seems to have a great and friendly vibe to it so therefore it comes highly recommended by me - just stay away from the pizza.

location including GPS coords
ซอย หมู่บ้านสันทรายคันทรีวิลล์ ตำบล สันทรายหลวง อำเภอ สันทราย เชียงใหม่ 50210
Open daily from 2pm to midnight

Sort:  

Pity about the pizza, but it looks as though you are getting a good mix of bars and restaurants now that you can know which ones to revisit. Having a decent drink on tap is a bonus and at least you know what you will be drinking when you go back.

I am very interested to be able to visit Chiang Mai, see and enjoy the food menu in this city

This place seems to cartel more to foreigners and their meals and dished prove to that, the environment is quite relaxing and serene . And the place looks calm and relaxing also

Ah yes, I have seen my fair share of golf course clubhouses called the 19th hole as well as bowling alley bars called the 13th frame. I agree with you about the margaritas, sadly they still do that at many places in the states too. If I wanted that much of the mix, I would just drink it plain. I want the tequila to be up front with the sour mix enhancing it from behind. That's too bad about the pizza. Maybe they make their own sauce but they over compensated when they added the sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I actually prefer a pizza sauce with a hint of sweetness, but if it is too much I can see how that would be off-putting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79