Gelato World - Chiang Mai : Fantastic selection of flavors

in #food5 years ago

I don't normally eat sweets. It is a personal decision about avoiding carbs in my life as much as possible because I don't want to be a fatty. This place piqued my interest because it is across the street from my condo, so i figured i would give it a go.


source

The first thing that catches your (my) eye is the presentation. Ice cream shops I have been to in the past have just had buckets of ice cream on display. These containers are works of art. I almost feel bad asking the attendant to put a scoop in them and disturb the lovely flowing waves of decoration. I eventually decided on Chocolate Fudge in a waffle cone.

48359199_988942854636926_2453422552270241792_nss.jpg
sorry lovely display!

Was it awesome? Well of course it was. To be honest the portion was actually too much and it was extremely rich which suggests to me that this is likely about the amount of processed sugar that I would consume in a week. It's ok because I went to ninja school and also rode my bicycle around 12 km that day. I likely burned it off.

The texture of gelato is very different from ice cream. It also seems to melt a lot faster. I knew that "gelato" simply means "ice cream" in Italian but it turns out there are some other difference.

  • gelato has a lower fat content, not much lower so don't think it is a health food
  • there are normally no egg whites involved in gelato
  • ice cream contains (as the name suggests) more cream than milk while gelato has more milk than cream
  • there is a difference in the churning process but I am not going to pretend to know anything about that. I'll just take their word for it

Overall, i would say that I actually prefer gelato to ice cream despite the fact that I very very rarely have either. I think this 500 calorie treat that has more carbs than i normally allow myself in a day is a nice reward, but i don't see myself going back there very much. It's not because Gelato World did anything wrong: It's quite the opposite - this place is amazing.

Their location and information can be found here

If you are into this sort of thing and find yourself in the tourist area of Chiang Mai (which you almost certainly will if you visit here) you should definitely give Gelato World a try.

Sort:  

You know, I happily pass on the delicious sweet things like this so that the chicks can enjoy more of it.

That being the case, I would scoop the hell out of that display and enjoy every bite!

Its like Charlie and the Chocolate factory lol. Candy or ice cream is not presented the way it used to be, with all the colors etc.,.

What catches my attention most was the different varieties and colorful ice creams and gelato in display, i normally don,t take sugary foods but if i was in chiang mai i may be tempted to taste some of these gelato ice cream @gooddream

I hope your choice is always fantastic, keep the spirit of the pack and success for you

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The customer prone the diabitis in that food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76