Tacos Bell - Chiang Mai: pretty good considering what dude is working with

in #food5 years ago (edited)

You did not read that incorrectly and it is not a typo. The second Tex-Mex place that I have visited in Chiang Mai is none other than Tacos Bell, a "restaurant" that is only open from 930 PM to 2 AM, every day of the week.

65976_og_1.jpeg

This guy pulls his food cart up next to a popular nightclub area in the center of Chiang Mai downtown every night. There are only 2 chairs to sit in (and I presume one of them is for him) and there are no tables. The tortillas are homemade (just gonna take his word on this) and there are options of quesadillas, tacos (only soft), burritos, nachos, and of course burgers (huh?).

52011357_344553199602950_6003955892842659840_n.jpg

I was impressed by the amount of filling options that he had here. Many of the full-size restaurants that you attend do not have all these options. This initially raised concerns about food storage but then i figured, "i'm hungry and I am going to do it anyway." Because I am a little bit stingy and also wanted to get this done quickly I just went for the chicken because it being the cheapest, it is very likely to be the most popular as well.

51936883_529788220849975_3227746954637213696_n.jpg

He has no helpers and is just a one man show. I was actually quite impressed with how quickly he put everything together. I ordered a quesadilla and a taco and both were so large that I actually only ate the quesadilla and put the taco in the fridge for breakfast tomorrow (which is actually today.)

51844960_1440367359427545_8953507202853765120_n.jpg

It looks like a bit of a mess but that isn't his fault. I rode my bicycle home and it was a bouncy ride. However the portion size is fantastic and there is plenty of filling. The Tex-Mex spice isn't exactly right, but to be fair it is really very close and I say great job to this fella. I found it to be very tasty.

My total bill was 140 Baht for two monstrous items that are both a meal in themselves. I will be back to this place in the future but first, i have about a dozen other Mexican places to attend in the city.

here is his location

The actual Taco Bell has recently come to Thailand and I hope they aren't jerks about the name of this guy's shop. He isn't impacting their brand in any way. He likely makes very little money, as most of these food cart people tend not to. We'll have to see if they open a branch in Chiang Mai, which is exceptionally likely.

Sort:  

Also ordered from this guy when I was in Chiang Mai last month. As a connoisseur of drunken taco eating, it was a really solid cart.

Definitely not the same as what I can get in NYC, but for being on the other side of the world and not having had tacos for weeks, it was very much appreciated.

rock on bro! so happy there are other people out there that know this fella. !

Yeah, welcome addition to the bar street. You should also check out Thai Taco if you're ever in Patong. They go for more of a Thai-Mex fusion and it was awesome.

I ate there as well when I was there. I second that this guy is worth a visit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi gooddream. Small world as there are two others in your comments who know this guy lol. I think that says it all and think it is fantastic a guy who has small stand and is only open for a few hours everyday already has 3 people on Steem who know of him.

Is the food good? The food looks like a combination of Asian and Mexican.

it was pretty good. didn't like that they put rice in it so if i go back i will specifically ask to not receive. Given the price, i would say it was a great value.

Quoting from your post "This guy pulls his food cart up next to a popular nightclub area in the center of Chiang Mai downtown every night. ". I guess he is looking for a suitable place for good sale

yeah... i think a bunch of drunks in their 20's would be a likely audience for this sort of thing. The nightclubs in question cater almost entirely to foreigners

Tacos bell hahaha nice wordplay to avoid brand copying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17