Tsunami Sushi Bar (restaurant )in Chiang Mai: cheapish, fast, neat

in #food5 years ago

I don't always eat sushi and sashimi because i find it to be not filling at all and eating enough of it to actually fill my stomach to a reasonable level can result in me feeling ill afterwards. However, i do enjoy it and a place like this really fits the bill for me because of its combination of quality and price.

60079602_668059146988903_1287375979794137088_n.jpg

It is located on one of the busiest (and subject to horrible traffic jams) streets in all of Chiang Mai. This is the popular part of the city known as "Nimman" although that is not really what the area is called. This place caught my eye because it was very busy when I was walking by one night.

59999277_316785978997567_826809413825200128_n.jpg

A majority of the food preparation is done right in front of you and this always appeals to me. This way I don't have to wonder about any sort of "questionable food preparation" which is extremely important, especially when dealing with uncooked food.

These 3 people at the front stayed busy the entire time we were there and if you have one of the seats around the front it is actually very entertaining to see the chefs in action.

The menu is what you would expect at a sushi bar and the prices are a little bit higher than other places in the city with the same menu but the issue here is quality - you should expect to pay a bit more if you are getting a higher quality product.

The wait-staff were attentive, fast, and friendly. Everything we ordered was done quickly despite the fact that nearly every seat in the place had a person sitting in it.

Personally, I never go to a sushi bar to get full, I go there to drink beer and socialize with a pal with some raw fish snacks and I think that most people who enjoy sushi / sashimi do pretty much the same thing.

If you are in Chiang Mai in the Nimman area (and you really should check it out because there is a lot to see here) then this is a good place to go. I think that for a reasonable amount of snacks / drinks the average person could manage to enjoy themselves here for less than $10 U.S. per person.

location including GPS coords
8 19 หมู่ 1 ถนน ห้วยแก้ว ตำบล ช้างเผือก อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ เชียงใหม่ 50300


although I did not submit this for Tasteem consideration you really might want to, they have weekly payouts and you are helping to develop an app that is already popular

Sort:  

I agree that seeing the food being prepared is reassuring especially as it is not cooked. I enjoy sitting watching a kitchen in action and is all part of the entertainment. I don't eat sushi at all and prefer my food cooked.

I love to eat sushi. But I have the same problem like you I never get full. And bye the way Sushi is really healthy food.

Wow ... the restaurant is very clean and comfortable. The service is also very good. You will enjoy it, friend. . But I don't like to eat raw fish. . it will make me sick. Enjoy your day my friend.

I am not a big fan of sushi at all, but I think if I were to have it I would want to see it prepared in front of me. Maybe I just haven't found anything like yet, but the couple of times I have tried it I haven't been that impressed. I know it is hard to find really good sushi, so maybe I just went to the wrong places...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76