Wrap Master fast food (Chiang Mai): Cheap, fast and tasty

in #food5 years ago

This was a random find in a food court in one of the most popular shopping malls in Chiang Mai. When I was looking at the prices I was thinking "there is no way that stuff this cheap will be any good." Thankfully, i was wrong.

56119428_2159762897648351_7756576602883883008_o.jpg
source

The place obviously focuses on wraps, primarily flour tortillas. Most of the items on offer have some sort of mexican flair to them and this definitely appeals to me. I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it ended up being, or as big.

At around 100 Baht ($3) there is a wide variety of wrap options and although I didn't have them, they also have a bunch of nachos, fries, and taco options here. The "wrap" I had was basically a burrito and it was awesome. I will definitely return to this place in the future.

13935060_1629595377331775_6493959405154187890_n.jpg
source

This place is very popular with tourists and the expat community, but as any business owner that specializes in foreign food can tell you, it can prove quite difficult to interest Thai people in any food from overseas. However, this place seemed to be doing quite well with all demographics and that was nice to see.

59922090_2312146748808795_8074553432901419008_n.jpg
I was so excited when this arrived that I nearly forgot to take a picture of it

So if you find yourself in this mall (and if you spend any sort of time in Chiang Mai, you likely will at one point or another) this is an awesome place to go have a huge lunch for a few bucks. It is located in the basement in the malls' kind of strange food court.

location including GPS coords
Maya lifestyle shopping center FL B1, อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ Chiang Mai


I highly recommend using the tasteem platform for food review submissions. They have frequent contests with pretty sweet payouts and the app is growing in global popularity

Sort:  

We used to have a wrap place near where I live called Rolly Polly. It was a chain that had some really fantastic wraps. Sadly, it just didn't stick around that long and eventually it went out of business. It was right down the road from one of the big High Schools too that has an open campus for lunch, so you really think it would have done better. I think part of the problem was the prices were too high for what people were willing to pay for a wrap.

There was a Rolly Polly at my college town just before i graduated and left. It didn't last long once people were informed that the wraps have just as many carbs as bread does. :(

That could have been part of the reason too. I just remember it was ever so tasty!

Posted using Partiko Android

$3 for a decent lunch sounds very decent. I think you just have to have an open mind and just try things. I know normally when I see something too cheap I wonder where the corners are being cut to make profits. Just maybe they do the volume and the price is what creates the volume.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83