Pastel de Choclo - AKA Chilean Corn Pie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

in #food6 years ago

I thought today I'd make another traditional Chilean recipe to share with you guys.

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie) (8).jpg

Today I’m gonna be more Chilean than gringa though. I made Pastel de Choclo, which is very similar to what would happen if a shepherd's pie married a tamale and had a kid. It’s very Chilean with all of the typical ingredients, raisins, olives, hardboiled eggs, and oregano.

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie),.pngPastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie) (7).jpg

I included nearly everything in mine because I wanted it to be as authentic as possible, but I couldn’t bring myself to add the olives. Personally, I love olives, but they don’t usually pit them here and adding them would have meant no one in my family would eat the finished product, so I nixed em.

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie) (9).jpg

Feel free to add them if they’re your thing. I also skipped the beef just because I didn’t have any on hand and I was already adding chicken, but they usually add both to this dish. Oh, and I didn’t do this, but it’s typically served with a dusting of powdered sugar on top. They really like things sweet, Chileans. Like at the movies, you can’t get salty popcorn, they only sell sweet. It’s weird

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie) (11).jpg

I will probably be making a trip back to my beloved little towns in Chile again in a few months but for now I'm off to Europe and Steemfest!

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie) (3).jpg

So I hope you’re excited about eating some Chilean food today with me because I’m celebrating traveling!

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie) (10).jpg

Gringalicious-border.png
Recipe available upon request to the first person who can tell me what traditional ingredient did I leave out of this recipe?

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D5300 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST. And by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21

Oh, and don't forget to follow me on all your favorite social media channels!

Facebook ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Instagram

Don't forget to check out my other recent food posts:

1.Apple Cinnamon Hand Pies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

2.Flaky Sweet Potato Honey Biscuits (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  1. Peanut Butter Mousse Reese's Cup Cheesecake Cake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  2. Dark Chocolate Mocha (Full) Moon Pies Cookies (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  3. The Fried Pickle Burger with Roasted Artichoke Garlic Ranch

  4. No-Churn Samoas Cookie Caramel Ice Cream (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  5. Spicy Cajun Fried Cauliflower & Louisiana Sauce (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  6. Healthy Double Chocolate Chip Sweet Potato Cookie (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  7. Brown Butter Sage Pumpkin Crepe Bake (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

  8. Chocolate Covered Caramel Cookie Dough Pretzel Cups (FOOD PHOTO SHOOT)

AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 


PicMonkey Collage.png

4 DAYS UNTIL I LEAVE FOR STEEMFEST!!


I HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE

Pastel de Choclo (Chilean Corn Pie),.jpg

Sort:  

I love your dish, the background, your props, all amazing. The wood plates are super cool. Like @fullofhope said, thanks for leaving that one ingredient out, that's one ingredient I do not like, at all.

Haha, well I knew that so it's like it was just for you! Thanks @noboxes

I remember going to the little tiny restaurants in Chile and ordering this dish. Thanks for leaving that one ingredient out, not my favorite. Gorgeous pics as always

You left out the olives! (thank goodness... I don't know why ppl leave olives with pits inside...) And also the beef and sugar. lol Sugar seems so out of left field. But I'd love the recipe! I don't think we've ever tried Chilean food!

Loading...
Loading...

It's perhaps the tastiest corn recipe I've ever seen! I think shrimp will make it even more delicious. Thanks for posting.

Shrimp is a great idea, thanks so much for the suggestion!

Hey...You are so very good at presentations...just love the way, you put across the platter, present it, decorate it...I am learning...gradually !!! :)
Wish you all the best at the Steemfest!!! Have a Great Time and share your experience and Pics too !!!
Cheers!!!

I absolutely will be sharing photos (maybe more than people would like even, like a LOT!, haha) Thanks for your best wishes @amitsharma!

Pleasure !!!
Will be truly Glad to see...a LOT !!! actually !!! :)
STEM A.jpg

I absolutely will be sharing photos (maybe more than people would like even, like a LOT!, haha) Thanks for your best wishes @amitsharma!

I absolutely will be sharing photos (maybe more than people would like even, like a LOT!, haha) Thanks for your best wishes @amitsharma!

Good morning as always you have me intrigued on what's on the menu. And as always looks really delicious and tasty thank you for sharing

wow beautiful food..
This is my favorite food
Thanks for share this photos

You're very welcome @r45h3d!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gringalicious from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 8.75 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @fullofhope. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25