My meals cooked today- Day 7

in #food5 years ago

Day 7 Slimming challenge - Batch cooking/ Meal prep

My brother- in-law let me use his kitchen today for few hours so I quickly cooked few meals for next 3/4 days and will have some leftovers to freeze for another day.
I cook what I crave or my family asked me for😉

In 5 hours I prepared:

1.Spaghetti Bolognese- cooked from scratch with passata, my own seasoning and low fat beef. ( Recipe was posted long ago in this group).
My husband and kids will add some cheddar cheese to this meal. I will save those calories for handful of nuts later with in my fruit bowl.
In my container I have 1cup of cooked pasta, 4 very large spoons of sauce and shortly before serving I will add more fresh vegetables. I don’t like brown pasta so I cooked white one😉
yl4atxadg2.jpg

2.Coconut and yogurt chicken curry- Used ready made shop bought sauce ( Pataks) because i was curious to try those flavours as soon I noticed this product during food shopping. It contains slightly to much fats so on the day of consumption I will plan my other meals low fat😉 My family will enjoy this with rice and little naan bread. I replaced naan bread with half a cup cooked wild rice and plenty of vegetables.

3.Lentil soup - Cooked from scratch in pressure cooker with onion, lemon, turmeric and about 1/3 cup raw orzo pasta. My family will enjoy this with piece of bread. I will skip bread and add cooked egg for more balanced meal. Some days I use cooked chicken breast or anything with extra protein😉
a0ai3fwtmy.jpg

4.Tuna salad with my fave butter beans😍 beetroot, tomatoes, sweetcorn and red pepper.
Salads never fill me up so to keep my hunger away for longer I cooked 100g of barley groats and mixed with other ingredients.
You can call me a weirdo but my only dressing here is just Dijon mustard, low fat Greek yogurt and some salt and pepper. This is my low fat meal😉My family doesn’t like this but I love it!
clkxwfbnd0.jpg

Usually every meal I cook for my family I will tweak somehow and cook more to have leftovers for freezing.
I will defrost it in microwave and eat it straightaway during lazy days or when I don’t feel like cooking😉

Nowadays I meal prep just for next 3 days because during the week we all want something new. Few years ago I cooked all day on Sunday for a week or sometimes 10 days. Half batch always ended up in our freezer.

My fave thing about batch cooking:

💡I don’t need to think every day what to cook because meals are already cooked.

💡Having good food in my fridge stops me from choosing to have something else because I hate waisting food😬

💡It gives me control over my nutrition, which means, I know exactly what’s in my meals. I know quantity and quality of my ingredients and I am in charge of portions 👌👌

It really is one of many good habits to help you reach your goals😉

Today was very productive day. My step count showing 7000 steps which I easy achieved by walking kids to school and back home. Little tired from cooking and multitasking doing other jobs in between but happy😉

Now is yoga time ,maybe meditation and hopefully early bedtime. I didn’t get good night sleep last night again!

How many of you meal prep? and for how many days? It will be lovely to see some of your meals in comments!
Have a good night everyone😊

Sort:  

Congratulations @healthandfitness! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

😍😍 I love your recipe and food. No ogień🔥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75