💜Knock the Socks Off Your Dinner Guests With PURPLE, Vegan Quiche!💜

in #food6 years ago

This recipe is going to have you messaging me asking me when you can stop by for dinner!


OH MY GOODNESS! THAT QUICHE IS PURPLE!


quiche22edit.jpg


Hey, a trip to tropical Bali wouldn't hurt you one bit and if you're coming, you better stop in for dinner where I can treat you to an incredible plant based meal that just might make you consider going vegan! 😉

I'm not going to try to lie to you OK?
This is not a recipe for the 5 minutes you have after work to scrape something together. This little number took me into another galaxy where my hands were lost, working on their own, time was passing while I made the homemade crust and cheese but it's more than worth every second and sure as **** will impress the pants off of your family and friends! 😘

Food is my passion and something that really gets me excited is taking a traditional recipe and blending it with my creative spices and making it as we say over here 'same, same but different!'

I want to admit something to you:
Before I changed my diet, I was really sick. I didn't look it, but I was in a tremendous amount of pain that was taking over my life. After I revamped what I was putting into my pie-hole, everything changed and now I am a new woman with a HUGE passion for helping other people find the same freedom I found by offering DELICIOUS ideas to try so you don't have to eat salad to be healthy!

I LOVE FOOD! Let's eat delicious food that's good for us too!

What's better than food that is NATURALLY colorful as well as tummy-tickling delicious? ... I don't even know the answer to that.

Let's make it together! 😘


quiche13.jpg


What you need:


quiche1.jpg


Serves 4
Crust

  • 1 cup flour of choice (I used purple sweet potato flour because it's exotic and beautiful!)
  • coconut oil and water as necessary (start with 1/8 of each)
  • 1 stem of fresh rosemary
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tbs oregano

Creamy Center

  • 2 small sweet potatoes pre-boiled (I used purple to match the color scheme going on! Make sure they are soft for use!)
  • 2 cobs of cooked corn (cut the corn from the cob- about 1/2 cup and cook beforehand)
  • 1 cup coconut cream
  • 1 stem of fresh rosemary
  • 1 tbs nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tbs oregano
  • 1/2 tbs sea salt
  • 3 garlic cloves

Veggie Layer

  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 cup of finely sliced mushrooms
  • 1 bunch spring onion
  • 1 onion
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic

Walnut Cheese Topping

  • 1 cup walnuts (soaked overnight)
  • 3-4 sun dried tomatoes
  • 2 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 tbs nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tbs miso paste
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • filtered water (as needed for desired consistency)

What to do:


Crust

  • Start with your flour and spices and mix them together in a bowl.
  • If you're feeling like you want a short cut: throw the flour mixture into a food processor.

quiche2.jpg


  • Add oil and water slowly in the same proportions, as needed to form a dough.... yes, that is what I did! 😉
    Careful it doesn't get too wet or you'll have to add more flour!

quiche3.jpg


  • Remove the dough from the processor or bowl if you've hand mixed it and ball it up, then press into an oiled up pie pan.
  • Brush coconut oil all over the crust.
  • Place in oven at 180'C for 20 minutes.

quiche4.jpg


Walnut Cheese


  • Take all of the walnut cheese ingredients and pulse in food processor.

walnut cheese 1.jpg


  • Keep pulsing until you get a smooth consistency.
  • Taste when it's smooth. For more cheesy flavor add nutritional yeast.
  • Put in the fridge and start to make the next step.

walnut cheese 2.jpg


Creamy Layer
So everyone knows that a traditional quiche usually has this eggy-cheese layer that makes up the pie portion... let's take that idea and veganize it!

  • Take all of the cream ingredients (sweet potato, coconut cream, corn, herbs, salt and nutritional yeast and pulse it together in a food processor.

quiche5.jpg


  • You want it to be a creamy consistency but it's also fun to let some of the corn pieces stay intact!

quiche6.jpg


  • Spread this mixture evenly on top of the pre-baked crust.

quiche7.jpg


  • In a skillet with some coconut oil, stir-fry the veggie layer (broccoli, yellow bell pepper, mushroom, onion, spring onion, garlic) on medium until the veggies soften a bit.
    You don't want them to be mushy, just mostly cooked.
  • Pile the sautéed mixture on top of the cream layer.

quiche8.jpg


  • Add a big scoop of walnut cheese into the center and spread out towards the edges.
    (I used half of my mixture for the other pan without doubling the recipe so there will be more cheese than it shows here!)

quiche10.jpg


  • Place in the oven at 180'C for 20 minutes- 30 minutes.
  • (At this point cooking it isn't terribly important since the crust is ready and veggies are close to done but to make it all blend together, putting it in the heat for a little while is the goal!)
  • Let cool down, cut carefully and serve immediately!

quiche14.jpg


quiche15.jpg


quiche16.jpg


quiche17.jpg


I'm an all or nothin' kind'a gal so this recipe and post took a lot of energy to bring here today so if you like it, please give it an upvote down below!

heart thing.png


I truly believe we can heal ourselves through food and it is my mission in life to create and inspire delicious, mouth watering creations that are beneficial and packed full of plant based goodies to fuel our bodies, minds and lives!
Just a friendly reminder to all that I am hosting a very vegan contest click here to see the post explaining how to get involved! Anyone can enter and anyone can win as long as you follow the rules! 💖

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:


💁Want a FREE Steemit Assistant to Make Your Life MUCH Easier?💁
Your dream has come true- check it out!!


🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴
🍜Garden to Table: Coconut Curry!
🍝 Baked Lasagna
🍊Fruits to Make You Feel Your Best!
🍫Go Coco-NUTS for Homemade Creamy, Fudgy Chocolate Bars!
🍝 Mouth Watering, Creamy Cashew Alfredo Pasta Sauce!
🍞 The Ultimate Loaded Breakfast Sandwiches
Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!

XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Very tasty

Looks amazing! I also love healing foods that nourish and support the body, thanks for sharing this healthy recipe! 🙌💜

Hey @celinacam :) I love them too, it's my biggest passion in life! Plenty more to be shared here, I can promise you that :) <3

nice to see the promotion for vegan food if one turns vegan he is almost disease free

That is what I have found in changing my own diet which is why I am so excited to share recipes like this :)

Frankly speaking even I have experienced the same

You really outdid yourself today, this looks so tasty! I actually think I have everything on hand to make it. You mentioned you were so ill before you changed your eating habits. It really is true, you are what you eat! I'm so glad you figured this out and healed yourself. I look forward to making this one! Thank you! All the best!

Oh that is so much fun to hear! I know sometimes people tell me my ingredients are too exotic but I'm the one who doesn't have the internet to your door services over here ;)

I can't wait to hear how it goes for you! I adored this one and I had a lot of fun crafting it <3

WOWZAS! My mouth is literally filling up with saliva just thinking about this! To much info? Oh well. Anyways if we are ever in your hood I'm going to have to put in a request for this little gem! Now I have to go grab something tasty cause you have made me hungry!

Hahaha well I for one hope you drop by! The creamy center is what got me. I wish I would have just poured tons more of that on so if you go to make it, double that layer for extra delicious orrr when you stop by, we'll do it then ;)

Hope you find yourself a yummy snack! I wish we could send this through the screen! <3

Oh my goodness! This looks/sounds like pure health and deliciousness! I would love to come by for dinner hehe, you know that I would! 🤗Will see when I will head over to Bali, I can't wait that more longer to visit you, sister!😙Enjoy your weeks sweetheart, hugs & kisses from the Netherlands! (Going home today, sitting in the train with my toddler boy, he is enjoying a pear and I have some time to write comments under your posts! 😉)

LOVE!❤

I would seriously love that though I would love to visit you too so you know, we have to start arranging something ;)

Awww how sweet that he's eating a pear, that melts my heart <3 Good mama ;)

Love back to you! XO

Haha he was born vegan, so he knows what's good! 😉Yes we have to do that!💘

I truly believe you are right. I had never felt better than when I was eating a 90% vegan diet. Hey, nobody is perfect!

This looks absolutely exotic!!! I will be contacting you to send some via express mail!

Seriously, if a dish pops my interest like this did, it has got to be worth the trouble to make! Thanks so much!!

You know what, I think it's perfect that you are where you are and feeling great! :)

Hahaha mail is so expensive here or else Lena and I would be exchanging goods all the time ;) I do recommend putting in the time to taste it though, it's really not too bad especially with the helpful processor to speed things up ;) <3

🏆dear @heart-to-heart, this is so absolutely amazing! 🏆

It looks incredible good & yuuuuummmmy!

Thanks for sharing your great recipe of your creation!

Upvoted & Resteemed!

your @mynaturebody 🌱

Hahaha love the gif! Emma stone is adorable :)

You are so welcome, I hope you get to try this! It was scrumptious!

Thanks! Definitely I will give it a try.
This is on my tooop of meal creation list at home.

I appreciate your inspiration a lot! 👍

Such a beautiful dish! I've never seen a crust like that before! I'm new to steemit, just followed ya : ), are there any other accounts you could recommend I follow?

Hey @plantbasedjoe! Nice to meet you, I'm gunna go ahead and assume you're plant based ... just a hunch ;)

I haven't ever seen it either. I didn't even know if it would work lol but it did and it's soooo good!

If you go to my contest #veganwednesday tag, you'll find so many amazing plant based, vegans! That would be my first place to start since all of my favorite people hang out there sharing delicious food :)

Happy to have you here <3

delicious...... i wish someone cook for me this
@heart-to-heart thanks for sharing keep it up

Awww I hope someone makes it for you! If not, you can always try yourself :)

may be it will happend :D BTW your suggestion is best "always try yourself"

Its very true that through our proper eating we can be more healthier and less worry to our health ♥ Thank you for this recipe @heart-to-heart

Hi @honeywanders :) It's very true, if we start with what we eat, our health greatly improves then we have so much less to worry about ;) I'm happy to hear you liked this one! I'm always cooking up a storm so many more will come <3

Hope to see more of your recipe. I'm a PCOS member so this recipe will really help ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97