Five-minute Strawberry Ice Cream

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Almost everybody screams for ice cream, but I may just be one of the loudest, most high-pitched yelpers. When I discovered this recipe on the internet, I couldn't be quieted. I have always loved dessert, and when I got married, I found myself in quite the lucky situation: my husband does not like sweets (and especially not ice cream); thus, when I make dessert for two, I often end up eating both servings myself! However, I failed to remember, when I discovered this very berry delicious ice cream, that my dear husband, in fact, does love strawberries.

1 (10 ounce) package frozen strawberries, no sugar added
1/4 cup sugar
2/3 cup heavy cream


source

Add half of the heavy cream, frozen strawberries, and sugar to blender. Blend until the fruit is roughly chopped. Then, while the blender is still running, add the rest of the heavy cream. Top with fresh strawberries and serve immediately!

The possibilities for this recipe are endless! Any fruit would really do. Vanilla yogurt and soymilk are some low-fat alternatives to heavy cream, and since both are a bit sweeter, you can reduce the amount of sugar you add as well. The heavy cream seems to give it the richest ice cream flavor, though. Also make sure to get strawberries without too much juice. I found a tub of sweetened frozen strawberries on sale, so I eliminated the sugar, but I realized too late I should have added less cream because the tub had more juice. At first my ice cream was more of an ice cream smoothie, but freezing it for a few hours solved the problem!

Source:
https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/50050/five-minute-ice-cream/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hnub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @hnub! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11