Baking Day | Homemade Bread

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Homemade Bread

I learned to make bread as a teenager. My mom met a lady whose daughters were given regular responsibilities, like baking bread, doing laundry, cleaning, etc. This inspired my mom to make me the regular bread baker. I rose to the challenge and quickly became the family bread maker. For a few years I baked bread about once a week, but as my brother's appetites grew it was 2 or 3 times a week.

When Justin and I married I went from baking bread 2 or 3 times a week to almost never. We often had a hard time eating a whole loaf before it went moldy, so my bread baking skills retired for a few years. When our first daughter was born and I became a stay at home mom, I started baking bread again. Our girls are voracious bread eaters so I'm back in the bread making game.

IMG_20180510_101056.jpg

While my bread recipe is simple, it is tried and true. The first step is combining the yeast with warm water and letting it sit till full of bubbles, about ten minutes. Next I combine the bubbly yeast mixture with the remaining ingredients. By this time my children have detected my project and come swooping in to help. Baking bread is a favorite activity, it is grown up playdough and little girls can't get enough of it.

IMG_20180510_080030.jpg

IMG_20180510_082413.jpg

Full of bubbles and ready for the remaining ingredients to be added!

After kneading the dough I place it on the counter to rise. No one is to touch it (haha) but I do allow my oldest to cover it with a towel. As it rises I clean the kitchen while hoping the girls get distracted with something else before it is time to shape the bread. If not, there will be one loaf that has been squeezed, rolled, twisted and massaged to the point of near disaster. There is also a good chance this loaf has been licked, sneezed on and may contain traces of little girl hair. After rising again the loaves go in the oven and come out golden brown, ready to eat!

IMG_20180510_083326.jpg

Ready to begin the first rise.

IMG_20180510_083456.jpg

Covering the dough to help it rise.

IMG_20180510_083503.jpg

Just checking to see it is still there 😉

IMG_20180510_090255.jpg

Ready to shape.

IMG_20180510_093344.jpg

Ready to go in the oven.

IMG_20180510_093429.jpg

IMG_20180510_094443.jpg

Ten minutes into the bake.

00002IMG_00002_BURST20180510101651_COVER.jpg

My little helpers giving their approval!

Someday I hope to have a wood cook stove to bake my bread in, but for now my very nice electric range does very well for me. I also like to make sourdough bread, but I'm negligent with my sourdough starter and it often isn't fed. Until the day I remember to consistently feed my sourdough starter and my wood cook stove materializes, I will be quite happy making enriched breads in my modern kitchen.

IMG_20180510_112924.jpg

Oops! Looks like someone couldn't wait for the official tasting. When asked if she put her whole hand in there, she said, "No it was just my finger!" 😁


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T23:29:30
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Yummm! I make almost the same bread, but I'm lazy to knee so I let it sit for 12 hours. Works like a sharm.
However, I seem to not get those cuts on top as beautiful as yours. Any secret?

Letting it sit for 12 hours? I do that with my sourdough but have never tried it with plain white bread. No secret to slashing the tops, just used a serrated knife and did it right after shaping the loaves.

Ahá! So how comes there is no secret? I've been using a normal knife, not serrated. That's why it's not working hihihihihih

Hahah must have been a big finger!!! Your bread looks amazing, and look at that glistening top!!! I'm on the baking mission this afternoon....but I do sourdough :) I bought some biodynamic flour, and it cost me a bomb (I dont normally buy such expensive flour!) so it better be super amazing!!

I’m pretty sure she could’ve put her whole fist in that hole! I’ve never tried biodynamic flour, I’d be curious to see how that turns out.

Me too. I really don't know why I fell for his sales pitch - he made it sound like gold dust...!!!!

Haha kids are funny aren't they? i always remember my nephew surreptitiously crawling toward a cake with fork outstretched at like 1 years old. It was hilarious. And I always remember getting my finger to sneakily get the cream cheese frosting off Mum's carrot cake...

So biodynamic flour...you must be in Australia? Its payback, I remember my brother and I taking big chunks out of mom's bread and swiping our fingers through pies.

Is there a link between biodynamic flour and Australia? Yes, we're about an hour from Melbourne. Oh my god - kids!! Food was such an obsession! Oh hang on - has that even stopped for us?

Well I know there are some big Australian farms producing biodynamic flours, but beyond that I know nothing!

Well there you go!! Here's me thinking they were everywhere...! ;)

That is a beautiful loaf of bread! Love these pictures and that is a pretty large hole for a little person to have made ;) Much love - Carl

Thank you! We're still laughing about it. I'm quite certain her whole hand could fit in there.

So fun! Yum! I have made my own sourdough starter once using wild yeast! And spelt flour as I can’t have wheat! I used to make wheat bread lots for the hubby and kids but got out of the habit...maybe I should start again :)
Also, what age did you start making bread for the family? I’m just curious!! I think it’s a great idea and maybe my eldest son (8yrs) could try with my help.

I think I was around 14 when I started doing it completely on my own. Mom had me in the kitchen pretty early, I know when I was eight I was doing cookies all by myself. She taught each of us kids how to make pizza and potato soup and probably spaghetti too by the time we were 10 or so.

Thanks! So awesome! My 8yr old can make a cake by himself and I’m inspired now to do a bit more cooking with him:)

looks good would love to try it <3

The first loaf disappeared within an hour, so I’d say it turned out very well :-)

Baking Day that is great

I love to be able to make my own baked goods!

home made bread is always so good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89