Hooray for Toad in The Hole!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

toad.jpg

Don’t worry we are not cooking this little fellow, or fellette - no idea how you sex a toad, but anyway..

toadsep.png

What is Toad in the Hole?

Last weekend, at Sunday dinner the kids both liked the Yorkshire puddings with their roast dinner, so I thought ‘yay, I can now make Toad in the Hole for Sunday dinner and they will eat it and enjoy it.

I’ve not made Toad in the Hole for many a year, as there seemed little point making it for one person, or making two separate dinners (you won’t get me doing that).

toadinthehole.png

You can find the source of the picture and a decent recipe for Toad in the Hole here

So I made it and typically they didn’t like it, but they picked the toads out (sausages) out and ate them and left the hole (batter)

I enjoyed it though!

I will have to see if next time, the batter can be a bit lighter. It’s been a while, it was my one of my signature dishes that everyone loved to come over for at Sunday lunch, once upon a time.

If not, I’m sure shop bought Aunt Bessie can do a better job of getting them to like it. I think maybe her batter will be a little lighter and it means I don't have to cook.

toadsep.png

Toad in the Hole History

Today I also found out a little history about Toad in the Hole and that when it was first mentioned in history, it was a meal for laborers and not of the higher classes, but these days even the likes of Pippa Middleton cooks it, even though she does add parma ham to the recipe. So it's a typically English meal enjoyed by many. It always has been one of my favourites.

You can find out more about this history here

toadsep.png

Toad in the Hole Memories

It also made me sing this song for the day

Toad in the hole and dog in the blanket, a witch's dinner is as tasty as can be...

source

Anyone else remember Simon and the Witch?

I think I must have a thing about frogs and toads, I played this song over and over as a teenager….

source

Ah the sweet memories of heartbreak lol

Till next time

With <3 @hopehuggs

toadsep.png

Today's Recommendation

An easy way to earn free Bitcoin - mine it from a chrome extension and the more people you tell, the faster it mines... Get Cryptotab

toadsep.png

Sort:  

I think many of the better dishes were originally made for the lower class, Pizza as well!

You define it very good and loved to read your post its more deep then expected.

That's pretty cool

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

I have never heard about this recipe and have not seen it either but it does look interesting and easy to make. I will have to try it out :)

I have never heard about it too.

it was a meal for laborers and not of the higher classes, but these days even the likes of Pippa Middleton cooks it,

Now, this is life

good food keep good health.............

I really love what i have read today thanks a lot @hopehuggs.

Wonderful blog post you shared with some awesome writing skills you are wonderful with that :)

When I first had 'toad in the hole' as a kid (the name is a delight to a 5-year old boy!) it was simply a slice of bread, with a hole torn out, and an egg fried in the hole with it. The hole itself was also fried, and eaten with special reverence.

Thanks for stirring up the memory. I might just have to try a different version now.

Yes when I searched for picture of Toad in the Hole I saw lots of pictures of what you describe. I've not tried that version.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75