My New Favorite Philippine Made Chocolate! =)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

If eating so much chocolate is a crime, then I'm guilty! =)


We all know that Chocolate is made of Cocoa beans, which is also very common in my country. Here we call this really valuable crop "Cacao". Ripe Cacao fruit can be eaten and it's one of the fruit I enjoy as a child. The Cocoa beans are covered with soft and sweet white pulp and it's really delicious too.

In my country especially here in Cebu, we have this favorite hot chocolate beverage called "Sikwate", made from Tablea (chocolate tablets). Tablea is made of cocoa beans, dried and roasted then mixed with a little brown sugar as sweetener. I don't have a picture of Tablea but it looks a bit similar to this milk chocolate bar I have murdered lol. Tablea is like dark chocolate in circular tablet shape. It's dissolved in hot boiling water to make it into a yummy chocolate beverage. I also like adding milk as a creamer. In Cebu we often pair it with rice cake wrapped in banana leaf, we call "Puto maya". This is indeed a typical Cebuano breakfast.

History says that this precious Cocoa was derived from the Greek word "Theobroma" meaning "Food of the Gods" . Back then in the old days, only the wealthy people can enjoy Chocolate and was used in special occasion or spiritual ceremony. We are so lucky today in this generation that we can buy good quality chocolates almost everywhere in the world at an affordable price.  For me all chocolates are delicious and finding the best chocolate may be a little tricky. My ideal chocolate is something soft, smoothly melts in your mouth and not so sweet. 

I have a friend who has been selling chocolate for a sideline business and I also bought some. 

This is by far the biggest Filipino chocolate bar I had and it's also as good as all the other imported chocolates with soft, rich chocolatey goodness. 

Yes, this is one inch thick chocolate bar with almost 1 ft length. 

This chocolate compound can be eaten as is and also ideal for frosting, icing, toppings and making any treats you like. Just like these sweet chocolate coated marshmallows. Oh, so chocolatey yummy! Here, have some. =) 

I think I'm born to be such a sweet tooth, I can eat this everyday and my friends would sometimes wonder where all the sugar goes in my body lol. Of course I still take it to moderate and I consider my health always a priority. Yet there are many other reasons people suffer from health risk, so we can't blame it to chocolates! 

They say we can't buy love and happiness but life is better now, at least we can buy chocolate. =) For all the sweet tooths and chocolate lovers, every day is a sweet day!

Thanks for dropping by, I hope this blog has made your day a little more sweeter! Have a great week everyone! =)


Thank you! Daghan salamat! Maraming salamat po!

With much love from Cebu,

@island-girl


Sort:  

Congratulations! Do they make dark ones?

Yes, Fuji has 3 variations: Bittersweet (dark chocolate), Semi-sweet chocolate and Milk chocolate. Thank you @immarojas.

I will have to check that bittersweet.Meron sa SM??

I just bought it from my friend. Maybe meron sa SM but if in case sold out you can also buy it online at shopee.ph. =)

Free delivery lols

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-05T00:01:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.55/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh. Such a big chocolate bar : 1 inch thick and 1 ft length. I doubt how to eat it. It should be divided into small pieces when eating it, ok?
I love chocolate, too. But most of chocolates in China are in poor quality and expensive.
I always enjoy reading your blogs, I can learn the new things from them. "Cocoa" and "Cacao", their spellings are so funny. Cacao means Cocoa tree, right?
I am also interested in "Tablea". It sounds great, I have never heard of such kind of product. People just put some Tableas into the hot water, then get a chocolate beverage, easily and quickly like making a cup of tea.

Yeah, this chocolate compound was divided into 5 chocolate bars and I had to slice 1 of the choclate bar into smaller pieces just like in the photo. I'm happy you enjoyed this blog, many people indeed loves chocolate. Yes, Cacao also refers to the Cocoa tree.
Next time when I can have Tablea again, I will try to write a blog about it. It's quick and easy to prepare and really yummy. =)

Yeah. Too much of chocolate can cause another thing to your health like sickness. Don't take much of it.

True, too much of something is not good. I always take sweets to moderate and consider my health a priority. I try to keep myself healthy so far. Thanks for your comment and advise. Chocolate has also a lot of health benefits. Besides there are many other reason that causes health risk, so we can't blame chocolates. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30