Chicken of the Woods Harvest Timelapse!

in #food6 years ago

This is the first chicken of the woods mushroom, a.k.a. Laetiporus sulphureus, that I've ever found!
It is unbelievably exciting to find a wild mushroom like this, especially a huge, magificent one, and this one clocked in at 12 pounds!
chickenofwoods.jpg
After giving a lot away, I literally went on a "chicken of the woods cleanse" and ate all meals based around this mushroom for about a week before I ran out. (It wasn't a proper cleanse because I was combining it with different things, but it was still the main ingredient in all my dishes for a week!)
I took a time lapse of myself harvesting this beauty; enjoy!

Of course, I can't tell you exactly where it was, but let's just say it was in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina. I love mushroom hunting & mycology! Please feel free to ask me any questions you have.

chickenofwoodsii.jpgxoxo

Sort:  

Very cool! Foraging is a really neat hobby that I want to get into one day :) That's quite a score!

If you have any hardwood forest near you now is definitely the time to get out and look! Mushrooms galore everywhere here in the Blue Ridge Mountains

I don't know if I have a hardwood forest lol

Guess I'll start with learning that!

So a hardwood forest is a forest with deciduous trees like oak, poplar, hickory - stuff that loses its leaves in the winter. Most mushrooms that you're going to want to eat grow in hardwood forests (like chicken of the woods!)

Can my yard count as a hardwood forest? I've got a dozen mature oaks, a red oak, and a mulberry tree as well as some soft wood pine trees on my little half acre. Whole neighborhood is similarly wooded.

We see mushrooms all the time. I'd like to see if they're edible, but have no idea where to start.

Congratulations @jennislay! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jennislay! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Oh wow! What are some of those awesome recipes?

I always have wanted to be able to harvest and eat but I don'tknow enough about which fungis are edible around us...

I'd suggest you take a local foraging class. You'll learn a ton and they can tell you lots of recipes! Go ask at your local co-op about mushroom foraging classes and that will get you all set up.

Congratulations @jennislay! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17