Kale Chips = Ready in 10 Minutes + Superfood Snack+ Prevent Most Diseases!

in #food6 years ago

IMG_0325.jpg

Is reducing the risk for cancer, heart attack, and stroke as easy as eating a few kale chips every day? According to the books How Not To Die and Whole, eating mostly whole plant foods such as unprocessed fruits, vegetables, beans, nuts, and whole grains combined with an hour of exercise, an active low stress lifestyle, and minimizing intake of that which contributes to disease, we can expect to reduce our risk for all of the top 15 causes of death and life lives with less pain and more pleasure!

I eat and live this way today and see that the key to making it work is making practicing this lifestyle easy and fun! What helps is to have lots of snack foods and easy to make fruit and vegetable snacks like kale chips to ensure the full amount of vegetable intake which tends to be the most challenging for me. Today would you join us in reading my newest adventure in making kale chips because most of us struggle to eat vegetables while this post shows an easy way to do it?

We start with a bag of kale which is less than $5 and produces enough for 3 to 4 full trays of kale chips.

IMG_0318(1).jpg

Check out the nutrition label!

IMG_0319(1).jpg

To begin, we set the stove to 350 Fahrenheit or about 180 Celsius.

IMG_0317.jpg

Next, rinse the kale leaves and add 2 tablespoons of olive oil or a substitute that will help the chips become crispy in the oven and taste good.

IMG_0306.jpg

I like the Japanese seven spice from Publix for a spicy flavor without salt!

IMG_0309.jpg

Add garlic powder for more flavor!

IMG_0310(1).jpg

Finish it with more garlic and herb without any salt and get ready for my breath!

IMG_0312.jpg

After several failed attempts, I find this airbake tray helps a lot to allow the kale to cook evenly without burning because a thicker pan makes it too easy to burn on the bottom and not be done on the top.

IMG_0308(1).jpg

Dump the kale out of the strainer onto the tray.

IMG_0313.jpg

Invite children to join in on the nutrition and the fun cooking!

IMG_0314.jpg

Slide into the oven.

IMG_0315.jpg

Set a timer for about 7 minutes and make sure cook just to crispy without burning. After a few times making these I now get them right consistently after initially both undercooking and burning.

IMG_0316.PNG

Take them out of the oven when most are crispy and a few are still a little soft to avoid burning. Leave in a minute too long and a bunch may burn.

IMG_0320.jpg

Eat directly off the serving tray immediately for the best experience!

IMG_0321.jpg

Promoting healthy eating with my daughter is fairly easy when she hangs out me making kale chips and eating other fruits and vegetables!

IMG_0323.jpg

Thank you for reading this and I hope if you try the kale chips you enjoy them as much as I do!

Love,
Jerry Banfield

Sort:  

love you my dear sir

Looks yummy. I will for sure try this. Hope the Kids will so as well...

I guess I need to continue and keep on eating kale.
I like it like salad.
Keep on steemit.

Its very amazing sir @jerrybanfield

Jerry, I am so glad to see you promoting healthy food. You radiate good health , look at your skin :) MashaAllah.
I will definitely try those kale chips/crisps :)

True. It is so important to eat healthy and it's important to teach it to kids by exposing them to healthy food choices early instead of always giving them junk foods and candy. It really makes a difference in our health and too many people don't get that. Healthy eating can also aid in healing and prevention of diseases.

Yes, that is true. All diseases can be cured by eating healthy foods.

We need to get rid of GMOs, artificial food adjectives, artificial chemicals, and artificial chemical based medicines.

We only need pure and healthy food to live healthy and happy lives :)

Yes, they eat healthy and their face glow is showing this fact!!!

And kids love to eat healthy, too, most of the time.

They look delicious. I need to get some of the Japanese seven spice I think...

@aishaali thank you for noticing!

Vegan power! :D

i am glad to see the baby really enjoying with you love to see her n that good mood muahhhhhhhhhh

great baby, for sure

thanks brother i really got appreciated

Just can't get my inner slacker to go for it........ Did see some regular chips on the shelf at the store made from/with kale but still can't take that step....

@jerrybanfield I will have to try making some of these after you showing us how. This is the First time I have commented on one of your postings in 2018 I believe. Keep on STEEMing Jerry !

@stokjockey happy New Year!

Thank You Jerry and Happy New Year to you and your Family. I Love You Man and what you do to make STEEMIT the BEST in the World !

@jerrybanfield Great and yummy recipe. I have tried some homemade kale chips, and I strongly recommend them. Super healthy and surprisingly delicious ! Wishing you a fantastic 2018!

Agreed. Super healthy. And health can be seen in the eyes.

Very good composition from text and pictures. It was fun to read it. Espically when you are also interessted in such diets!
I'll kepp me on track with your articels :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87