A Fig Tree and Seeds for Home Grown Vegetables

in #food5 years ago

When I was growing up, we had a fig tree in our back yard. The tree had so much fruit that we couldn't eat it all. My mother made fig preserves and canned them for us to eat later. I imagine that she probably gave some away as well because I know that there would be ripe figs dropping to the ground because the tree produced so much fruit.

7e9r3pge3o.jpg

1ls25fqycm.jpg

h90av8t9x6.jpg

At some point in my adult life, I saw some figs at the farmer's market and I was shocked that they were $5.99 a pound! Figs are considered one of the super foods. I thought about how many figs we had and also how many went to waste because we couldn't eat them fast enough. So, when I saw a small fig tree at the home improvement store, I bought it. I don't know how long it will take to bear fruit, but I hope that it survives and grows to be very large.

It is still in the bucket right now, and I haven't put it in the ground yet because I want to make sure that there are no more freezes. A man in the garden section told me to wait until the end of April if I could, so I just placed it outside on the porch. If there is a freeze alert, then I will move it into the garage to protect it.

by0zjt7pyp.jpg

I also bought a variety of vegetable seeds. I already had several vegetable plants that I purchased, but seeds produce so many more plants. I haven't planted the seeds yet because I need help preparing the soil. Either my son or the young man who helps to cut my grass will assist me in preparing the soil. I would like a raised garden so that I don't have to do all of that back breaking weeding and harvesting.

ndi0ujrh7f.jpg

I hope that I get a bumper crop of vegetables and fruit that I can eat all summer long, and still have some to share. Have a great day.

25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

You have thoroughly prepared for planting, I hope the harvest this year will please you. Thank you for sharing @jluvs2fly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19