Grocery Shopping for Healthy Eating

in #food5 years ago

I went to the large farmer's market today to stock up on fresh vegetables for my meals. I am determined to get back to healthy eating and cooking healthy meals. I thought that I would share my groceries with you (pictures) and tell you what I will cook with them. 😃 When organic produce is offered, I always buy it evwen though it is more expensive. It also stays fresh longer.

6v7abf5rq6.jpg

The carrots, celery, cilantro and green onions will be used in soups and salads. The leeks will be used in a soup. The spinach will be used in an omelet. The collard greens will be cooked as a side vegetable.

se614rbq26.jpg

The butternut squash will be roasted as a side vegetable. The avocado will be eaten as a snack or in some guacamole. The Thai eggplant will be used in a green curry chicken Thai dish.

ti6rsu6exn.jpg

The broccoli, and baby bok choy will be used in a stir fry dish, and some of the broccoli and radishes will be used in a salad.

9rgwfrzk6i.jpg

The string beans will be sauteed with onions and garlic as a side vegetable dish.

xh05lzt588.jpg

The bean sprouts will be used in a chicken stir fry dish.

aat70jq7gp.jpg

The Thai basil will be used in a soup and in the green curry dish.

g2omuxztc8.jpg

The Thai peppers are needed for my curry dish and to spice things up in any dish that I prepare.

u1owfh8hwr.jpg

The recipe calls for galangal, kaffir lime leaves, and lemongrass. The galangal is new to me. It looks similar to ginger root but I have never cooked needed it before in a recipe. That's purple kale to the right.

ebx7wijncr.jpg

The green and purple kale will be used in salads and omelets.

0td5wf20tm.jpg

The portobello mushrooms will be grilled and eaten with salads or sauteed and added to other dishes. The blueberries are for a protein shake with unsweetened soy milk.

07pwjbj6y8.jpg

I also bought some green curry powder to make paste to use in my dish if I don't like my homemade green curry paste.

The recipe is here.

I have everything that I need from the farmer's market to eat healthy for the week.

Bon Appetit!
25a0c5f9jb.jpg

Sort:  

Everything is so fresh and delicious, you bought a lot of healthy products. Beautiful pictures @jluvs2fly

An amazing set of products. I know for sure that they are low in calories, and very rich in vitamins. Thank you for sharing

One of my favourite fruit or should i say vegetable have always been carrot. Love that fruit a lot.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11