Jamaican Curried Goat Stew

in #food5 years ago

I love eating curried goat whenever I travel to Jamaica or the Carribean area. Yesterday when I went to a farmers market, I came across some goat meat and decided that I would try my luck at making some curried goat. I know what I like as it relates to spices and there are different variations when I researched recipes. As usual, I modified several recipes and then added my own twist to tailor the flavor for my personal tastes.

dgtv09ooci.jpg

I discovered that most of the recipes suggested marinating the meat for several hours or overnight with spices and garlic. I liked one simple marinade which suggested a fourth cup of vinegar, a fourth cup of soy sauce and some fresh garlic. I know that the vinegar should help to tenderize the meat.

unq7acdo28.jpg

I also read and watched videos where some chefs always cut the fat and skin away from the goat meat. Others leave it on and suggest that the meat will have to cook longer.

f0ioydeldw.jpg

My goat meat came on the bone, and was very lean, so I didn't remove the little bit of skin and membrane that was still present.

I marinated the goat meat over night in the refrigerator. This morning, I seared the goat meat from the marinade after patting it dry in about a tablespoon of coconut oil. The recipe suggested a vegetable oil but I wanted to use the coconut oil.

6v4ykrya35.jpg

After I removed the seared goat meat from the skillet, I added chopped onions, celery and garlic to the skillet and cooked them until they were translucent. I added a can of tomato sauce, two cups of boiling water, and two teaspoons of "Better Than Bouillon Roasted Beef Base" because one recipe called for 2 cups of beef broth.

wqnee1ypns.jpg

I cooked this mixture for 40 minutes on a low simmer and then added some more spices. I added two large bay leaves, a tablespoon of grated fresh ginger root, a tablespoon of smoked paprika, about four tablespoons of curry powder, one tablespoon of tumeric, five allspice berries, and one large jalapeno pepper which included the seeds. Scotch bonnet peppers were suggested in a couple of recipes but they are too hot for me most of the time because I cannot judge how hot the dish will turn out.

x0hd308ryc.jpg

I have been cooking this curried goat for a couple of hours, but the meat is not as tender as I would like for it to be. I have some large chopped carrots and potatoes ready to be added to the stew once the meat is tender. I also plan to serve this stew with some brown rice. I tasted the dish a few minutes ago and it is absolutely delicious! If I let it cook for another 40 minutes, then the meat should be tender enough to fall from the bones.

1wibdsh2e5.jpg

I own a pressure cooker which I could have used to make the process go faster, but I wanted to first try my luck using more conventional measures first. I have a feeling that I will be cooking this dish more often.

Bon Appetit!

t04q85blpq.jpg

Sort:  

Curry goat stew ! Interesting.
Yes indeed, the meat should be tender falling off the bones ! NIce post ✨


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you. The meat did eventually get tender.


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Hello, good to see your post in reggaesteem!
This looks delicious and good to have your recipe - a few questions:

  • how much meat did you use
  • which curry powder (was it a mild Caribbean variety)
    I have to be careful with Scotch Bonnets, too. I saw a recipe, though, where the chilli is just torn in two and added for a while before being removed. I thought I would try that, because behind the heat, they have a lovely flavour.
    This dish looks like it would fare well in a slow cooker, too.

Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Hi @shanibeer. I bought a small amount of goat meat. It was about a pound and a half. The curry powder that I used was actually from India since it was the freshest spice that I had in my pantry. I considered using a slow cooker as well but in the end chose to cook this dish on the stove top. A slow cooker would have allowed me the option of letting it cook a long time unattended. I would use a slow cooker before using the pressure cooker method. As it relates to scotch bonnet peppers, I have some hot sauce that I bought from Jamaica that uses those peppers, and even though I love the flavor, I can only use one or two drops on my food. :)


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Do you know, this sounds so gorgeous I might see if I can get some goat meat in the town this afternoon!


Posted via ReggaeSteem.io | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Mmmmmmm, I can taste it through the screen!! #Yummy

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71