Another Crazy Day Which Included Making A Huge Pot of CHILLI. Yummy!

in #food5 years ago

IMG_20181109_170454 (2).jpg

Another great busy day, which is good right now since I am trying to keep myself as busy as I can, so that I don't have much time thinking and feeling sad and so I decided to make some Chilli today which does take a lot of time to prepare and a lot of mess, but I love it, especially when my family loves it and it is really healthy.


Usually when I decide to make chilli, I will make a big pot of it, so that I don't have to cook for few days, or so that I can freeze some for emergency food when I don't have time to cook or when I don't really feel like cooking.


I don't really use a recipe since I am not really a recipe person. When it comes to cooking I just get an idea of what ingredients to get and then I just make it my own and that is why I don't really like sharing recipes, because I just do it by looking at it and sort of measuring it that way. It's almost like I have no patience for recipes, unless it's baking or something that needs the right amount of ingredients.
I will look at many recipes, pretty much just to get an idea of what ingredients to add and how to cook it.

IMG_20181109_153705.jpg


First, I started to cook some beans, since they take up to 3 hrs. of cooking time. I had 3 different pots of beans since they require different time of cooking; the biggest pot in which I cooked some red kidney beans and black beans together since they both take the same time of cooking. The next pot was the green lentils which took about 30 minutes to cook and the last was small white beans which also took about an hour of cooking.

All the beans I cooked with a clove of garlic, green pepper, salt and some chicken cubitos, which is like Maggi chicken spice you use for the rice of soups.


IMG_20181109_153705.jpg

The next thing I did was prepare my own tomato salsa which included about 6 roma tomatoes, medium onion, two cloves of garlic, cillantro, red pepper, green pepper and some other green herb which I don't really know the name for it since I just started using it lately since it grows in our backyard and it has an amazing smell and taste which I add to every soup, or beans or meats.

That is why I don't really care for recipes, since you can add so many other herbs or spices of your liking or if you don't have all the right ingredients you can replace it with some other ones and I just go with the flo and keep on tasting while I am cooking.


I mixed all these ingredients in a mixer, but instead of adding some water to it, I decided to add a little bit of the bean soup which already has some taste. And again, if I had more tomatoes, I would probably add some more, but I work with what I have.


The next thing was to prepare some ground beef (1 lb) with some garlic, all seasoning, salt, black pepper, onion, and paprika on a medium frying pan and cook it until browned.


When the meat was ready I poured the salsa into it and cooked it together for another 10 minutes. I did not have any chilli powder so I had to add some more of paprika and all seasoning spice.


IMG_20181109_155656.jpg

When all the beans were done cooking, I poured all of the beans together in a large pot (only beans, with no bean soup). When the salsa was done cooking with the meat I poured the salsa into the big pot of beans and cooked it covered on a very low heat for another 10 minutes.


IMG_20181109_154952.jpg

Red kidney beans and black beans.


IMG_20181109_155307.jpg

Added the white beans into the big pot of red kidney beans and black beans and then added the green lentils.


IMG_20181109_161332.jpg


IMG_20181109_161433.jpg

Beautiful mix of the beans.


IMG_20181109_161516.jpg

Finally we added the salsa with the ground beef into it and mixed it all up and cooked it for another 10 minutes on a low heat.


IMG_20181109_162409.jpg

Now that the chilli was ready, I made some tortillas which we would eat the chilli with. Because my older son is not in favor of tortillas very much (he will eat them, but prefers bread or buns) so he enjoyed his chilli with some fresh buns.
And of course we made our favorite lemonade from the fresh limes from our lime tree.


IMG_20181109_163305.jpg


Hope you had a wonderful day, my lovely friends, and thank you so much for your kind and supportive words during this sad time in our lives. We are keeping busy, which is a huge help while going through this very sad time in our lives.
Love @joalvarez.


Please support @surpassinggoogle for making this community a better place.
Here is the link to his original post, about the #ublog which he has created, so please check it out:
https://steemit.com/ulog/@surpassinggoogle/please-join-in-in-curating-ulog-2029-steemit-posts-on-ulog-in-the-past-few-days-we-are-reshaping-the-internet-with-freshness



I am a great supporter of @familyprotection who is working very hard to help the families stay together and this project is the most amazing project that I would suggest for everyone on this steemit community to check it out and support it and by doing it we are helping people in need who are trying to keep their kids safe from being taken away (kidnapped) by the Social Services. Here is the link Click here


I am also a part of one of the most amazing projects here on steemit and that is @gratefulvibes project where you can also join @gratefulvibes Discord chat group, where we support the newcomers and just have an amazing time.


***Thank you for visiting my post. If you like it, please don't forget to Upvote, Follow, and Resteem, it is very, very appreciated. Any suggestions are always very welcome so that I can keep improving in this community.
God Bless!

DQmduqqaBDC8BYQQLUETr4F8VSBi6WfypSNoW6YY2vDCo4f.jpg

Image created by my beautiful friend @sunnylife.

Sort:  

Love chilli, had it for lunch today!

Yummy. I guess we were thinking the same thing today. lol

This looks so delicious!

I love beans and combined with all the other ingredients it must taste great. Plus tortillas, yummy! :)

I don't cook often but when I do, I also just put together the ingredients I have on hand but for baking I always follow the recipe.

Thank you @nikolina.
Yes. For baking I also always follow the recipes but sometimes I would add some extras too, like cinnamon, or cocoa etc. but you pretty much have to follow the recipes in baking otherwise it will not turn out.

I never had a chili dish before but indeed it looks yummy @joalvarez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73