Pancit Bihon Guisado With Chayote, Cabbages And Carrots

in #food6 years ago (edited)
Hello Steemit community!

Oftentimes, some people would prepare pansit whenever there is a birthday celebration. It's like pancit is a representation for longer and blissful life (from well-wishers).

It was a belief that I heard from my late grandparents, even from my parents. However, I don't really hold any scientific proof on all this. I guess, it's just for fun 'though and it shows how creative people's minds were, in coming up with this comparison.

When I was young, I remembered that we prepared pancit for special ocassions only, but as I grow older, I realized that pancit is no longer stereotyped for special celebrations. Even the neighboring "carenderia" cooks pansit everyday as one menu on their list.

pancit bihon guisado all set to be transferred to a serving dish

2018-05-15 12_36_46-Greenshot.png

My PANSIT BIHON recipe

Basically, I learned how to cook pancit by watching simple videos and food tutorials. I tried doing my own simple recipe and incorporate it with just some not-so-demanding ingredients. It's just plain and intended for home consumption, especially when I am in a hurry mode, for this meal doesn't really require a lot of time.

Here are the ingredients that I used:

1 tbsp of cooking oil
chopped onion and garlic
1/2 cup of water
pancit mix (the one that I bought from the market is a combination of carrots, cabbage, and chayote; you may want to segregate the veggies)
pancit noodles
sotanghon noodles
knorr pork cubes
salt and seasoning

actual ingredients that I used

2018-05-15 12_33_52-Greenshot.png

Steps/ Procedure

Heat oil in the pan.
Saute the onions and garlic. Add the chayote slices and stir fry for about 2 to 3 minutes.
Add the water and pork cubes and wait for it to boil.
Add the pancit and sotanghon noodles. Simmer for a few minutes until the noodles are cooked and the water is drained out.
Put the pancit mix. Add a pinch of salt and seasoning. Stir fry until all ingredients are thoroughly combined and vegetables are cooked. Then, serve.

Please note that the chayote and carrots take longer to cook compared to the cabbages. What I did was I separated the chayote slices and sauted those together with the onions and garlic. I wanted my carrots to be half-cooked so I added them in with the cabbages.

chow time!

2018-05-15 12_35_38-Greenshot.png


PANSIT TRIVIA

"Pansit" or "pancit" are "noodles" in Filipino cuisine, generally. As per Wiki, the word "pancit" is derived from the Hokkien pian i sit, which means convenient food, literally.

Going back to its history, it was the early Chinese Filipino settlers in the Philippines, who introduced the noodles. It has been fully embraced by the local cuisines over the centuries. Fast forward to the future, there are now a lot of variants and types of pancit noodles in the country that you can buy conveniently at the supermarkets, and which you can readily cook at home.

Reference:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pancit

PhotoGrid_1508745993775.jpg

Please UPVOTE, FOLLOW and RESTEEM!

steemitgif.gif

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

When I was young, I remembered that we prepare pansit for special occassions only, but as I grow older, I realized that pansit is no longer typecast for special celebrations.
It should be occasions instead of occassions.

Thanks for the correction @grammarnazi. I made the necessary correction already. :)

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Thank you @steemkitchen. Yes, will do. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13