Episode 1: Hi, call me Foodstin (Introduction!)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hey Everyone! My name is Justin, I'm 17, I'm unorthodox, and I’m here to explore anything and everything food, and hope some of you will join me on my journey.

me.jpg

I’m half Canadian and half Japanese but have been born and raised in the beautiful country of Singapore. Singapore is a mecca of different cuisines, being colonies of Malaysia, Britain and Japan there is no better culinary cornucopia than our tiny fishing port. That being said my time here is coming to an end soon, and I will start another adventure in Toronto where I will be going to university (uoft gang?). That’s why I want to chronicle and share my short legacy that I’ve been able to experience here in Singapore.

Partner in crime.jpg

me trying not to be lonely.jpg

It’s always great to find communities that share similar passions, and although my friends and groups are all amazing and supportive, I haven’t been able to find my fellow foodies. That all being said, looking at some of the lovely posts by the incredible people here, I’m definitely optimistic that I’ll find that community here.

34689317_2094078557303623_686689863889584128_n.jpg

I’ve taken lessons and have had the opportunity to cook all over the world. Besides Singapore, Japan and Canada I have also cooked in New Zealand, Italy, Spain, Malaysia and Thailand and I always look to lengthen my list. I've met some incredible local chefs such as Justin Quek, Tetsuya Wakuda, David Myers and you're going to have to trust me but I did briefly see and got to try Gordon Ramsay's food when he visited Singapore to make hawker stall food. I waited for 8 hours in line for that one. Worth every second. Personally I’m a sucker for anything Italian cuisine, and fortunately, drawing between European and Asian cuisine has let me express my taste for all the foods I enjoy so much

I made this one.jpg
This also.png
I didn't make this but look at me y'all already know that was some good chicken.jpg

On Steemit I plan to find a healthy balance of reviews and recipes. Along with food and blogging, I love making videos, so keep a lookout for cooking videos as well. I am definitely not strong-willed enough to post multiple times a day, but I want to make sure that whatever weekly/biweekly posts you guys get are top quality. I plan to explore things such as top 10’s, where I go and visit top shops and restaurants, recipe posts, where I show you how to make some of my favourite fusion inventions, and also minor posts where I explore minor elements to perfect your cooking at home. So if you like bisques, steaks, ice cream, or are intrigued by what I mean by “chili crab cakes”, definitely consider sticking around! See you soon!

... Please do not actually call me Foodstin

Sort:  

Hi! I started today too :) Greetings from Poland! And good luck!

Haha thanks you too!!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Welcome to steemit @justinrogers if you have any questions, I am at your disposal, I am part of a school that teaches how to be successful in steemit..

STEEMSCHOOLS

We are here to help you grow, we have live classes every day by DISCORD.

Join here https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

WE WIN TOGETHER

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

Congratulations @justinrogers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome, justinrogers! I wish you an awesome journey here in this wonderful community :) All the best!!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Welcome to steemit community @justinrogers:)

Love your smile and your food and your photos.

Welcome to the family, @justinrogers! And it's about time too!

Just a tip on the tags you used; it's pretty much the same as blog categories, which is how your readers will find yours.

On a daily basis, I publish a report on profitable tags. "Food" is one of them, along with stuff like "vegan" and "recipe".

The report should give you a hint on what are some good tags to use so you can get more visibility.

Also, you can check out this blog on the 4Cs to Steemit Success, and one of the Cs is Courting Followers, which is what you'll have to do to get more followers, fans and readers. The more views you get, the more upvotes you're gonna get, and hence, more $$$.

Have fun!

Thanks for the advice Maverick! I'm definitely looking in to maximising the tags, and your post on the 4Cs was a great read!!

Hey welcome to Steemit! Don't be afraid to post about other things in your life off the topic of food on cooking! I inittially joined Steemit with the intention of mostly just posting about crypto, but when I started sharing different parts of my life like gardening and my dogs, I got insane amount of interaction back.
A lot of Steemit users communicate through Discord chat since there isn't a messaging system on Steemit.

Thanks for the excellent advice!! I think after I get more comfortable I'll be more open and eager to explore different topics and styles

Hi @justinrogers. It's nice to see you here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87