I just love this!! But not everybody does

in #food6 years ago (edited)

One of my most favorite guilty pleasures is a typical Dutch candy called 'drop'. In English you might know this as licorice or liquorice and in German it is called Lakritz. But not everybody is such a fan of this as I am




Wikipedia

Drop (I'm just keeping the Dutch name for it) is made from a root called Glycyrrhiza glabra according to Wikipedia and added with tons of sugar. Also it could increase your bloodpressure and have laxating side effects if you eat this too much. So just don't eat it too much is my advice, keep it moderate ;)

Every Dutchy will know drop and has eaten this so much during their childhood, that you almost forget this might not be the deal in other countries.



Once I brought a bag from Holland to the Caribbean when I was still living there, and proudly presented it at work to share. My colleages there genuinely asked me if I was trying to kill them with this disgusting stuff. I was kind of shocked. Because drop is simply ALWAYS delicious I presumed!




Now you have all kinds of flavors in drop


One of the ones that most people have seen before in Holland we call 'English drop' and it is sweet and coconut and anais is added in some of the colorful surroundings. It does look good, and you can surely eat yourself more than sick on this. I also know people who eat only the colorful part and leave the darker part.


But you also have the more salty one which is actually my personal favorite. My parents would even send me double salted drop when I wasn't living in the neighboodhood and that one is a killer. Because it really makes you face twitch and it does indeed make your bloodpressure rise. But sometimes you need to have a guilty pleasure ;)



So today I asked at work if I should bring some for my Swiss colleages. The answers were very diverse from 'that disgusting stuff that you Dutchies are always eating' to 'yes, pleeeeeease. I haven't had this is ages and I was waiting for a Dutchy to come along and bring this again.'

As you see: different people, different flavors, but curiosity will always win






Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thanks for much for choosing my post guys! I feel honored!

There is nothing better in this world then food haha

That looks wonderful. i would love to try it.

Choc chip cookies, muffins, (maybe Nutela pancakes), repeat. ;)

Altijd weer die........

het zou verboooooooooden moeten worden!

Tja die zijn echt te erg .....

Eigenlijk heb ik voor de rest van mijn leven genoeg auto drop gegeten. Ik kende iemand die er werkte 😬

I love the double salted ones! But when I am hard pressed the English drop! I haven't been able to get any of these since I left Canada! I miss having them. Definitely a guilty pleasure!

I Will send you a bag off english drop 😉

Really? Thank you very much. I miss them terribly!

Tell me were to sent them

You can contact me on discord cecicastor#9739 where I can give you an address. Are you sure you want to do this? You have to mail to Nicaragua...

Going to ask the postoffice if its possible. If its not to much wouldnt it be cool if it really comes to your door step DROP ENGLISH DROP

Only if it doesn't cost a lot. And yes, that would be so cool!

A non dutchy who loves the double salty ones! Wow!!
One day will come that I will send you some :))

Next time when I go to Holland I will mail you some and we will see if it arrives!

I may be a non-Dutchy but I love the stuff! I probably have my father to thank for that. He was born in Belgium close to the border with Holland. I spent a year living there when I was in my twenties and had a few Dutch friends, so I spent some time in Holland too.

How cool I didnt know that!

We need a 10 facts about ceci that are true, which one is not true post again! :)

I want to try this candy, can send to me. Wkkwkwkwk

Hehehe this is hardcore stuff! You have be a lover of it ;)

De katjes van Venco .... Heaven

Zeker niet de favoriet, vandaag buikpijn gegeten aan boerderijdrop hahahaha :D

Ik stuur je wel drop op als je zonder zit 😂😂

Jah!! Stuur ik milka terug hrhehehe

I'm late to comment on this, but well, the only thing I have to add is I LOVE DROP!

I do think it is never too late to comment that drop is the BOMB!

I do think it is
Never too late to comment
That drop is the BOMB!

                 - karinxxl


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77