Homemade Maple Syrup

in #food6 years ago (edited)

While on vacation last week I made some maple syrup, straight from the maple tree sap, boiled down and put into jars ready to consume :D Here's what I did.


Collect the tree sap

DSCN0861.jpg

First we have to go around collecting the tree sap.


Put the tree sap into a container to boil down

IMG_20180426_120255.jpg

IMG_20180426_120303.jpg

My uncle had large containers to boil down a large amount of tree sap :)


Start and feed the fire to boil the sap

IMG_20180426_115126.jpg

I started the fire up. It burned wood pretty quick. I had to go collect more down the hill:

IMG_20180426_121236.jpg

Then I added more wood to get it hotter. I put large hard wood on the ides, with smaller pieces in the middle. The hard wood takes longer to burn and makes longer lasting coals.

IMG_20180426_122154.jpg


The sap starts to boil and evaporate the water

IMG_20180426_122844.jpg

IMG_20180426_142724.jpg

IMG_20180426_142757.jpg


After reducing, poor all the reduced sap/maple syrup into one container to reduce into the final maple syrup product

IMG_20180426_180158.jpg


Setup a filtering system to catch the unwanted substances from the sap collecting and evaporation

DSCN0888.jpg


Poor out the thickened sap that is now maple syrup

DSCN0890.jpg


Sterilize jars by boiling them in hot water, then poor into the jars and seal tight

IMG_20180426_113621.jpg

IMG_20180426_113610.jpg


Here is the sugar shack shed that was used at my uncles:

IMG_20180426_115354.jpg


Healthiest Sweetener

Maple syrup isn't only a natural sugar from trees, it also has some minerals in it as well, making it healthier than most other sugar products you can use for sweetening food.

The main minerals present are: potassium, calcium, magnesium, sodium, zinc, manganese, phosphorus, iron, and selenium.

maple-syrup-health-chart.jpg

Source


Conclusion

I had taken more pictures with my phone, but apparently I was out of space from taking too many pictures and having too much music, and my phone didn't tell me I was out of space while I was taking pictures. Sorry about that. Thankfully my girlfriend took pictures with her camera, so I was still able to make a pretty complete post of the process nonetheless :)

At the end of the day, you can collect some snow or crush some ice, and then heat up some maple syrup to thicken it even more, and then poor it over the snow to make maple toffee :P Take some wooden popsicle sticks and roll from one end of the hardened maple syrup line to the other, and you get a maple syrup candy on a stick ;)

DSCN0895.jpg

Yum. Super sweet maple syrup candy :D

My girlfriend comes from France, and she had never tasted maple syrup toffee. She liked it :) hehehe.


Well that's it. Now you know how to make maple syrup from the sap of maple trees.


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

Yummy!....:)...

I used to sweeten squash with maple syrup and then I ran out and I use brown sugar. Brown sugar is definitely better than the other sweeteners but really not so good as maple syrup. I will have to go buy some more!

This is delicious food and I like this food. It is very good to hear it your girlfriend comes from France, and she had never tasted maple syrup toffee. She liked it.

Very nice. Thanks for sharing!

You explain the process of maple syrup forming in great detail, unfortunately we do not have that tree.

And I'm very sure, the thing that makes you happiest during the process of maple and maple syrup sweets is, when your girlfriend likes what you've made for a very long time.

Yup, double plus good,

Well, it's still very traditional how to make it. Hmm .. i want to taste it :D

So beautiful food and cooking.
Thanks for sharing.

This is delicious food and I like this food..
One day I taste this food...😊😊😊

Everyday I get to learn new things. Hearing of maple syrup for the first time. I will make research about it. Thanks to your gf for using her phone to complete the post

It's really good :P

That looking very interesting i never thought to do it myself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81