Mini Vegan 'Cheese' Cakes

in #food6 years ago

I first made these when I started going out with my partner. She likes desserts, so I wanted to impress her. Well, I succeeded. These are her favorite dessert. She likes other desserts I've made, but this is what she wanted me to make for this past Saturday on her birthday, as it's the one she likes the most out of them all. I make some good soft cookies regularly that she really likes too ;)


Ingredients



Base:

  • 18 Graham Crackers, or 150g of Graham Crumble
  • 4 tbsp coconut oil (melted)

Filling:

  • 1 1/2 cups of cashews, soaked in hot water for a least an hour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup (or other sweetener)
  • 2 tsp corn starch
  • 1 1/2 tsp agar agar powder
  • 1 can of fatty coconut milk
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced

Strawberry topping:

  • 1 bag of frozen strawberries (600g)
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp agar agar powder

Instruction Steps


1- Process graham crackers into powder (food processor, or rolling pin), or use graham crumble.

2- Mix graham crumble and coconut oil (in a food processor).

3- Distribute the graham base into the cupcake molds. and press down to form s solid base.

I use silicon cupcake molds, and they are great. They can be reused for along time. I make between 15 mini cakes, as there is enough graham base to make that many and fill with the other layers. If you only want to do 12, you will have more filling left over, as the mini cake will have more graham base in it. So why not make 15 if you can ;)

4- Bake the graham base for 10 minutes at 350 degrees F. Then put aside.

5- Make sure you already soaked your cashews for at least an hour in hot water, then drain them.

6- Blend the cashews, salt, vanilla extract, maple syrup, corn starch, agar agar powder, fatty coconut milk and lemon juice until there are no junks of cashews left.

I started with my food processor, but it's too wide and doesn't chop up the cashews well enough. I switched over to the blender and it did the job right.

7- Pour the cashew filling into a stove pot and bring to a boil slowly, while constantly mixing it. As soon as you see heat bubbles popping up or trying to escape, you're done, take it off the stove.

8- Scoop the thickened cashew filling into the cupcake molds that has the graham base in it. I use a heaping tablespoon utensil. Smooth it over. Make sure to leave 1/2 cm or 1/4 inch from the top for the strawberry filling.

9- Put the frozen strawberries in a stove pot, bring to boil then put on low for 10-15m to let the strawberries soften and release their juices.

10- Put the hot strawberries in a fine mesh strainer and collect the strawberry juice. Mix the berries around to get more of the juice.

11- Mix together the final ingredients: water, maple syrup, lemon juice, agar agar powder.

12- Add the strawberry juice to the mix and bring to a boil, then remove from heat.

13- Pour/scoop the strawberry topping onto the cupcakes over the cashew filling. I use a bit more than a tablespoon utensil to scoop and pour over the cupcake.

I could have put more cashew filling, since I had less strawberry juice topping this time as I made 3 extra ones for a total of 18 mini cakes (but the extra 3 had no graham base, just cashew filling and strawberry topping).

14- Put in the fridge for at least 30 minutes for the topping to cool an solidify from the agar agar.

15- Remove the cakes from the cupcake mold, serve, and enjoy :)

I keep the leftover mushy strawberries for toast, pancakes or crepes, as well as the leftover cashew filling. Sometimes if I put too much cashew filling in, then I have leftover strawberry jelly topping. Use it on toast or whatever you like :)

If you want a great tasting vegan dessert, try this out. You won't regret it. I've made it 5 times so far. With at least 12 of these mini 'cheese' cakes made, you will have some delicious dessert for a few days (unless you binge and eat them all quickly, which is tempting).

Bon appetit!


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


Recipe source


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

the top looks like watermelon...amazing!

Those look like some tasty little treats and a good way not to devour a whole cheesecake in one sitting. I am in no way admitting to doin such an act 😉
You should join the Food Fight that happens every Friday. Here is some info about Food Fight Friday

Really amazing effort and delicious recipe you shared. the cookies made you for your partener's favourite mini vegan cheese cakes is good effort. thanks @krnel for updating

Yum! These look like an excellent birthday (or any day) treat. Leftover strawberries are never a problem to re-purpose into something else just as tasty!

looking very delicious. I have made similar deserts, but always containing dairy and they were great, especially in summer. I'll give your vegan version a try as soon as I have time.

This looks nice, the cashewfilling really is something, I should try it out sometime ^^

Thank you for sharing this great recipe! I can imagine that she loves it. Who wouldn't? 😊

I hope you had a great celebration of her birthday! 🎉🎂😊

Beautiful post. I'm assuming agar agar makes the jelly like texture and holds it together?

Yes, it makes it hold ;)

Looks like an interesting recipe to try one of this days.
Lucky girl that one is.

Want to eat..I will must try it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05