Seitan (Not Satan) and Stars for Christmas

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Wrapping up the Christmas/Holiday season with a final post on the delicious Christmas feast I had this year.

The final dish was a homemade seitan roast made by my partner. Seitan is unfortunately pronounced like Satan. So eating seiten is like eating Satan, but phonetically only ;) it's made with chestnuts inside. So good! And the gravy is with cranberries.

IMG_20181225_205656.jpg

It included roasted beets and onions, with a cream sauce we made (missing from the plate).

There were also some failed Duchess potatoes that I couldn't make because the pastry piper broke :/ And some red kuri squash balls that were supposed to be chilled in the fridge to be spheres, but I wanted them heated. They had too much coconut oil in them, and they turned into mushy things. But they were good anyways.

Prior to that was a dish of 'Saint-Jacques' style shitake mushrooms, with flaky pastry stars. Plus the salad.

IMG_20181225_193749.jpg

I don't have the recipes with me, as I'm at work right now.But if you're interested, I can let you know how to make it. Last year we bought one, and it was delicious. But the homemade version is even better :D

IMG_20181225_205741.jpg

See you next year great food!


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

That look like a great meal

well played, less meat for a better world

Right on! No animal flesh through the taking of innocent life when we don't need to. Go "vegan" ;)

Awesome looking dinner! We’ve never had seitan before. I think I assume I wouldn’t like it much because I don’t care for tofu much. That’s probably a ridiculous assumption I know. Welcome to the food fight family @krnel. Those stuffed star pastries look delicious 😋

Oh it's good. It's not made from tofu ;) Thanks. And yes they were very good ;)

I’ve been watching you the past couple weeks, as I lay on the couch in a food coma from the last Food Fight Friday. You have been posting a couple food related posts on Fridays but they are lacking one thing.... the #fff tag. Well I am here to ferment formally invite you to join in with the wildest bunch of Food Flingin’ Folks on the Blockchain. Simply post your food related post of Friday using the #fff tag and watch out, you have entered into the Food Fight Friday Arena. Your post will be entered into a contest where anyone can vote for their favorite Food Fight Friday Contender. Then the Following Friday a Winner will be announced and prizes dished out.
With your permission I would like to go ahead and flip your post lightly toasted post into Round 24 of this Food Fight Friday Madness. Just go ahead and add that #fff tag to make things legit. Deal??
C5D0C8CE-E5C4-42F7-B9B1-0D7D4BE39838.gif

Hehe, sounds good. I've edited my post to add the fff tag ;) Thanks for suggesting it.

Good luck in Round 24 of
Food Fight Friday
May your contender survive and not be placed in a permanent food coma.
125BBBF8-726F-41EA-BB39-4F1622EE09F8.gif

YAAAASSS!!!

100000 x yes and yum!

Looks delisious dish food

Hey @krnel, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83