Varities of food in nigeria

in #food6 years ago

Nigeria is a country in west Africa comprising of 32 states and a federal capital territory, she has a population estimated to be over 170 million making it the most populous black nation. Another exciting fact about my country is that it can boast of over 500 different ethnic group each with it's own culture and tradition. My main focus today will be on the different types of food eaten by people from different parts of the country.

Personally I feel Nigerian delicacies are the best in the world and we just have so many to choose from that you simply just cant resist. Let me give you a list of some of the different Nigerian foods and talk briefly about them.

Pounded yam/fufu and egusi soup
This is one of my favorite and I think it ranks third on my list, for most part of 2017 it was my regular and at a point it was almost daily. The pounded yam is made by first boiling the yam slices and then pounding with a local mortar and pestle of a yam pounder
rice.jfif

Jollof rice
This is arguably the most talked about Nigerian food on the internet. It has sparked up a debate that lasted for most part of 2017 mainly between Nigeria and Ghana about whose jollof was better which was not supposed to be a debate because the Nigerian jollof is far better. If you have a try you will know it's worth all the hype. There is a popular saying in Nigeria that a party without jollof is not a party
sa.jfif
Source

Poundo cocoyam and oha soup
This is one I'm yet to taste but I'm posting it because it is bae's favorite and hopefully after reading this she'll prepare it for me. This is a traditional delicacy perculiar to people from the eastern part of Nigeria
oha-soup-and-pondo-cocoyam.jpg
Source

Abacha and ugba
This is also from the eastern part of the country and it is commonly referred to as AFRICAN SALAD. It is very delicious and also very affordable
ab.jfif
Source

Sort:  

Nicely written...all the images have already made me salivate...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05