Marmite Open Sandwich, Anyone?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians, recently I have a lot more time than rushing to work during weekdays and I have been blessed with enough leftover ingredients to try something totally different, in the most budgeting way, using what I have in my fridge to whip up something new, edible, nice in taste and with minimal expenses.

How do you make a full brunch meal (that should last you the most part of the day) with less than 70 cents USD of raw ingredients?

Or if you prefer from an 🍏 to an 🍎 around... $2.50 (of raw ingredients)?

Present to you...

2 nights ago when I was lazing and relaxing with YouTube on, I saw a JOLLY series (by the hosts of the Korean Englishman channel) talking about Ollie and Josh's attempts to have Ollie's daughter try Vegemite.

For those who does not know Marmite (or Vegemite) has been one of those staple ingredients for Brits (or Aussies) for quick breakfasts.

According to Wikipedia, marmites are yeast extracts from by product of beer brewing; while Vegemite is from vegetable and spice additives.

In their term, you either love or hate Marmite / Vegemite

And no wonder little Juno didn't like it from the way it was prepared. Haha.

So I made a twist and created a savory taste of open sandwich that is very wholesome, and if you want it gluten free then something else can substitute the toasts.

By the way, did you know blanched pumpkin leaves are edible?

That's what I got from my Indonesian friend, who happily harvested too much leaves for her benefit when she visited her vegetable plot. She decided to blanch them and hold them in freezer for later use.

And she gave some to me last week, along with the tapioca leaves.


So I took out the frozen vege this morning, shredded (while it was still part frozen) about 1/2 a bowl and set it aside.

Then I simmer the thinly sliced carrots on the frying pan; later added in the diced yellow onions with a dash of himalayan salt and some pepper.

After that is nicely simmered and soft l, add in the (still) frozen blanched pumpkin leaves and spread out in the pan.

Cover it for about 1 minute under medium heat.

Before hand I had some ready made diluted marmite kept nicely in my fridge. I do have the jar spread but that would be a little too strong if you are not well verse with the ratio.

How dilute the marmite is per your liking. I might redo it once I ran out of it and share my ratio of water and marmite.

Marmite itself is actually rather salty and pungent (for some) therefore some tiny amount of sugar will be needed.

I had 1/2 teaspoon of diluted marmite spread on the vegetable mix and added a dash of brown sugar. You can add less if you want to retain the stronger marmite taste.

Then add in an egg and scramble around the dish now that the leaves are dried enough to be mixed around, and make sure there are evenly covered.

mushy leaves won't do well. You will need to let it simmer a little longer

If your pan is well seasoned with oil you won't need a lot of oil for the egg and it won't stick.

Sorry I forgot to take a picture of it but you can look through fried tapioca leaves post to see how it looks like.

Once that is done. Set it aside and start toasting the bread slices.

I used the same frying pan.

While the slices were faced up I spread diluted marmite over them and flip over for a lightly toasted effect.

I switch off the heat and flipped back the toasts upward with the marmite and placed the fried egg and vege mix on the top each slice.

Since I still had some leftover parmesan flakes I added it on the top and cover the pan to let the cheese settle.

And here you are, served hot, with a glass of cold milk / any other beverage you please.

what happen to the rest of the onion?

I placed it in the living room, exposed.

Because I have a lot of phlegm and I know flu can be around the corner it is now served as flu virus and bacteria magnet.

This is a remedy I learned from a friend some time back and I managed to help one of the Veterans last fall who had been suffering flu with his wife and family (for a little over a week and not improving) to recover by sharing this remedy.

So remember. Don't eat exposed raw onions for too long....you might be eating someone else's bacteria.

There goes the Satay ingredient for Malaysians!

I hope you have enjoyed this little experiment that turned out to be quite nice and filling for a budget meal.

Preparation time: 5 minutes.
(it's faster if you have pre sliced carrots)
Cooking time: 10-15 minutes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to littlenewthings! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06