Tried N' Tested: Indomee Salted Egg Flavour? steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food5 years ago

Today is an extremely horrible cheat day for me.

Hahaha... And health activists and vegans would have cringed to see this post.

These days even with cheat days I try to stay on the fresh food cooking as much as I can recently, but today I saw something at Village Grocer that stroke my curiosity.

Indomee was once (and actually still is) most Malaysians ultimate quick fix meal, especially for students

I remembered during my uni days Malaysians who flew across the seas would bring at least one box of Indomee with them (or Maggie Mee for some and Cintan Mee for others) especially freshmen. This was their survival food until they accustomed to the local food or figured out how to cook something better than instant noodles.

Most poorer students would have even asked family to send over or any other countrymen they know who so happened to be travelling over to bring along too, as it was still a lot cheaper than buying instant noodles in their studying country, even though some countries do restrict their "imported items"

Come to think of it, adult Malaysians still do that when they first travel abroad to unknown countries too..

Yes, @aaronleang, @joannewong and @elizacheng? 😆

But for this test product...

Yes... I do have some fresh produce to go along with it.

The disadvantage of only have one stove is that you have to do things sequentially, and so while the noodles were boiling I was getting these ready to be sautéd with butter and nothing else, since there are already MSG flavouring available.

At least it gives a nice aroma to it with that extra flavour, and sauté with butter brings allows the vegetables (and fungus) to retain their flavour

then comes the flavourings...

So apparently I have this salty red pack, some "dried salted egg yolk powder" and "chili powder in the aluminium pack with instructions on how to prepare the meal.

After the vegetables were sautéd I added the ingredients and mix them up before adding the drained boiled instant noodles.

The taste

Honestly there is no where close to an original salted egg paste flavour, but it could pass for first timers who has never tried salted egg yolk before. It isn't all bad and perhaps because I added fresh produce this has lowered the MSG effect that I feel less thirsty after the meal.

yes, most of the time you will feel extremely thirsty because of the MSG

Verdict?

Honestly if I had other choices of instant noodles / ramen (like Korean samyang) I would have chose those.

But it does have a kick of it and for those who are Indomee fans feel free to give it a go.

The best part is that Village Grocer Atria actually sells on separate pack at about MYR 1.39, and I find this good because they kill two birds with one stone: satisfy customers' curiosity and at the same time they earn more by selling it separately.

How about you? Would you be curious enough to try this out?

Have you encountered other slated egg instant noodles in the market and is worth recommending to try ?

If you have tried others before do share your experience at the comment below!

To end this post in case that there is a #cookwithus reference, I have my handle here. Yes. I cooked it, and I ate it. Haha

I hope you have enjoyed reading this review as much as I have enjoyed preparing it.

Until Then

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yummy food)))

It wasn't too shabby 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 370 (01/14/19)

I love noodles so I would definitely try this out! This looks pretty tasty, glad you were satisfied. I know it’s hard sometimes to stay on our health track but as long and you get back on you’ll be fine ;)

Thanks for sharing ~

Looks interesting! I would have been curious and tried it as well!
:D
Ive never had 'salted egg paste', and now I wonder how that is! Ill have to Google it!

Sometimes a rare cheat day is good to motivate us for another burst on non cheat days

Ah ha ha ha.. But I have been on too many cheat days I need to get back to my normal intermittent fasting and snack in some fruits and nuts

Posted using Partiko Android

Well in that case food luck getting back on track

Hahaha... I will try! 😅
Thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I will give this one a pass lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha... But @zord189 favours it

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Congratulations @littlenewthings! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27