Trying New Recipes: Country French Skillet Chicken

in #food6 years ago

I've been feeling the need for new challenges in the kitchen lately. I'm a great cook. I've mastered home made pizzas, yeast dough for a variety of baked goods, pies, gravy, and normal Southern classic entrees. Now, I feel the need to find new challenges and foods for my family to enjoy so we have a greater variety of dishes we can enjoy for dinner. I've been researching recipes for dishes I haven't heard of or tried before. So far I've made Ricotta Stuffed Pumpkin Blossoms and Roast Beef with Yorkshire Pudding.

I've got a long list of recipes I want to try. Country French Skillet Chicken was at the top of my list because it looked so good in the blog I read click here for the recipe I used.

My Country French Skillet Chicken

IMG_7267 2.JPG

If you want a decadent, rich chicken dish this one is really good. It's very flavorful and tasty. My toddler loved it and ate big bites. My husband said to put it on the keeper list and that he really enjoyed it.

You start off frying your seasoned chicken in an entire stick of butter until it is lightly browned.

IMG_7254.JPG

Then you add water, vegetable Knorr vegetable soup/dip mix, and a little dillweed.

IMG_7255.JPG

You cover the chicken and let it cook all the way through. The smell at this point will be amazing!

Remove the chicken from the liquid, mix in some sour cream, and you've got a delicious sauce for the chicken.

IMG_7265.JPG

Put the chicken back in and enjoy!

IMG_7266.JPG

I served it with mashed potatoes because I wasn't sure what to expect. After trying the dish I realized rice or pasta would have been much better to accompany it because it was such a rich tasting dish. I think rice or pasta would have toned down the richness. Overall,this recipe is really great. It tasted like something you'd get at a fancy restaurant. I highly recommend giving it a try.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Tasty-looking chicken recipe as always, I'm hungry already 😋
little rabbit must love your food!

Good vibes for you and your rabbit family ✌️

Thanks. Little rabbit seems to enjoy my cooking. She ate a lot of this dish. Good vibes back!

Reminds me of Hungarian chicken paprikash my mom used to make!

I did a video on it about 6 years ago lol.

Yumm dumplings! It does have some similarities. My husband loves lots of paprika with chicken. Might have to try your recipe sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01