Cooking the Romanian Style - Romanian Potato Salad (called Salata Orientala) 🥔🥔🥔

in #food5 years ago

Greetings Steemians,

This salad I write you about is widely believed to have originated in Germany, from where easily it spread in the whole Europe. I guess every country has its "way" of making this type of salad, but in Romania these are the main ingredients: boiled potatoes, boiled eggs, onion, pickled cucumber, salami and mayonaisse (or more simply, vegetable oil). You can exclude the salami and you'll have a vegetarian salad; or you can exclude also the eggs and mayonnaise and get yourself a vegan salad. I like to add these two extra ingredients: fresh green parsley and red radishes.

Here is my recipe. Its very creamy and delicious. You can have it as a main course or a side dish.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 medium-big potatoes
  • 8 eggs
  • 4 scallion (the original ingredient is onion) it's your choise
  • a few pickled cucumbers
  • one piece of salami ( around 200 g ) but you can add more (or less)
  • one big bunch of fresh parsley (my favorite ingredient)
  • mayonnaise or vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper


INSTRUCTIONS:

1. First you have to do is to boil the potatoes with their skin on. And also, boil the eggs in a separate pan for 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, cut into small pieces these ingredients: salami, cucumbers, scallions(or the onion). Also chop the parsley. 

3. When the eggs are done, cut them in small pieces.

4. When the potatoes are completely boiled, dry them and wait a couple of minutes to cool down. Then peel their skin off and cut them in small pieces, like this:

5. Mix everything and add salt, pepper and mayonnaise (or oil). If you use homemade mayonnaise, you have to prepare it while the potatoes get boiled.


Enjoy it right away!!It's super delicious.

!! IMPORTANT TIP: I personally noticed something: if you mix the ingredients when the potatoes are still warm, you'll have a nice creamy consistency, which I like the most. I'm telling you this because there are people that boil the potatoes a few hours earlier and make the salad when the potatoes are completely cold. It's different and I'm sure I like the version using warm potatoes. Yummyy!!!


And this is the vegetarian version without salami.   🥗🥗

One thing I love about this salad is that you can keep it in the fridge for 2-3 days and the taste doesn't really change. You can also change the salami with ham, I've seen it many times at my friends. 

I really hope you'll try it! And tell me what you think about this salad recipe. Any suggestions are more than welcomed! What's your favorite type of salad?


Sending you lots of love,

Miss Deli

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! ALL THESE PHOTOS WERE TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG S8.    

 If you like my work, comment, upvote and resteem! And if you want to stay in touch with me for more delicious healthy recipes and articles on health, HIT the Follow button on my blog!  

Sort:  

The next day it tastes even better because all the aroma can sink in.
I have to make a nice potato salad next week xD

Yes, you're right! all those flavours....just yummy!
I encourage you to do so! Put some pictures if you manage to do it :p
Cheers from Romania!

In mu country we also say "salata" for salad :) And we have a salad that is very similar to this one. Thanks for sharing the recipe, you photos are lovely :)

haha! thank you sweet @grandadscookbook!

Looks delicious :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I miss my grandma now... that was her favorite recipe ;)

Ohh so sorry to hear that.. do you like this recipe too? :)

Its okay... she passed away some time ago with her 104 years she had a fulfilled life. This recipe was her favorite and i make it quite often... That's really delicious!

Ohhh thats a long happy life! and I'm sure you have some good memories with her :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Looks really good! Is it supposed to be eaten hot or cold? The potato salads here are usually served cold but I imagine yours can be delicious both ways

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cold @jeffjagoe! I mean, when you're done preparing all the ingredients, the potatoes are almost completely cold. Plus, they have to be cold when mix it with the mayo.

This potato salad looks amazing @missdeli! I also like adding the dressing while it's a little hot still, lovely and creamy then!

Thank you very much @lizelle! I really appreciate it. And yes, that's the best time to add the dressing!

My German girlfriend always makes kartoffelsalat when she is upset ! It's a very therapeutic process. I am keen to surprise her with my own version this week so I will try yours !

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88