Squash blossom Kale and Beetroot Omlette Beakfast

in #food6 years ago

Hope you're enjoying your weekend, steemians!!

I started my day feeling lazy but after 1 hour awake, I was completely fresh and full of energy so I went to the local market which is just 15 minutes from my home, 10 if I run. But I walked, so it took me fifteen min. After buying all kind of veggies and fruts that I don't have in my garden, I came back very enthusiastic about one ingredient  that I found there, which is Squash Blossom!!! 

Did you know that you can actually eat Squash Blossom? And they are super healthy too?  If you didn't, you're about to find out if you continue reading some stuff below.

Bur first, here's a photo of my breakfast: 

Squash Blossom Kale and Beetroot Omlette


About the Squash Blossom.

Squash blossoms are the edible flowers (meaning they are safe to be eaten) of Cucurbita species, particularly Curcubita Pepo, the species that produces zucchini (courgette) , marrow, spaghetti squash, and many other types of squash. (Wikipedia source)

Squash Blossom (squash flowers) are a culinary delight.  These golden, orange-yellow  flowers have a subtle flavor, reminiscent of young zucchinis, they're soft and delicate and you can use them raw, steamed, stuffed, battered and fried, in salads, cooked with other veggies, in soups or where/ever your imagination drives you.  You must cook them when they are fresh because they don't last long in the fridge. 

They are very nutritious, loaded with nutrients like Vitamic A, Vitamin B (B1, B2, B3, B9), Vitamin C,   Phosphorus, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Potassium. They are very low in saturated fat and sodium, therefore have a very low content of cholesterol. 

Back to the recipe, here are the ingredients you'll need:

  • 4 eggs
  • 4 kale leaves
  • 8 squash blossom
  • half of a beetroot (10 slices or more if you want)
  • salt, pepper, olive oil

I used organic eggs, you can see from their color down below; also, if you look close enough you'll see the 'dirty stuff' on the eggs shell. I'm saying this just to encourage you to buy organic ones when you can. Luckily for me, I always have really organic eggs because my parents have lots of chicken. Here in Romania, you wont have a problem finding really organic eggs. Pretty much every family that leaves at country side has chickens and they are well fed. 


Instructions: 

1. First, cut in slices all the veggies: the blossom flower, kale and bettroot.

2.  In a pan, sprinkle some olive oil and add the squash flowers and kale. Let them cook for 2-3 minutes and stir ocasionally.

3. Meanwhile, beat the eggs and add salt/pepper as much as you consider that its needed.

4. When the veggies are done, add the eggs and the beetroot and cook the omlette until its completely done. 

No need to say that you can have this nutritious breakfast in 5 minutes, right? Or maybe 10? You can get your protein from the eggs and the good carbs from the veggies. Feel free to adjust the recipe based on your own preferences. You can also add some beacon or cheese,mushroom, etc.  

Here are some more photos for you, enjoy!

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! ALL THESE PHOTOS WERE TAKEN WITH MY SAMSUNG S8.  

If you like my work, comment, upvote and resteem! And if you want to stay in touch with me for more delicious healthy recipes and articles on health, HIT the Follow button on my blog!  Or if you're already here, you can also take a look at my healthy food recipes if you're interested!   

Wish you a wonderful weekend ahead! Keep the good mood and enjoy every day!

With love,

Miss Deli

Sort:  

That looks delicious! yummm

Screenshot_20180714-181426.png i follow u

That is totally cool! Ive seen these blossom flowers here and there but I had no idea they were eatible. This sounds like a good start out recipe, actually everything is damn nice in omelet form...sweeet, thx!

So sorry for my late answer @karinxxl. Thank you for commenting and appreciating this recipe. And yes, blossom squash are interesting and totally eatible! So, when you have the change or uf you like veggies, give them a try!:p

Hmmm that looks yummy!!

Hi missdeli,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much @curie community for all the support you have giving me so far! Hopefully I can help you too one day, just let me know if you need any help:)

This looks amazing! I love squash blossoms. Especially of yellow summer squash. I'm not having the best luck actually getting any squash off my plants this year, although there are flowers! So, maybe I should just start eating the flowers. I wonder if the flowers of butternut squash are edible?

Also, I've never seen beets eating with eggs. That's super interesting. I usually just eat beets as simply boiled, or pickled. Haven't been very adventurous with beets but it's one of my favorite veggies to grow.

On top of that, your pictures are amazing, as well. Great post! Thank you for sharing. I've resteemed so I can come back to your recipe later.

Thank you @phedizzlea and also sorry for my late answer. It was a busy week. Yes, I think that the butternut squash blossom are also edible. Read here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Squash_blossom You'll see that squash blossom is a Cucurbita species, and also if you look up on wikipedia at butternut squash, they also belong to Cucurbita species. So, they both are edible flowers of Cucurbita species. Honestly, this was my first time when I had beets with eggs and it was great. The beets were crunchy and everything gave a sort of 'balance' to the omlette. It was like eating some type of food with eggs, nut omlette. It was super good, for me at least. I love boiled beets with some caraway seeds. They are very healthy, so I encourage you to grow them. And its pretty much easy to grow them. They are not pretentious plants. Thanks again, also for your comment and supporting. Cheers from Romania.

Squash blossom
Squash blossoms are the edible flowers of Cucurbita species, particularly Cucurbita pepo, the species that produces zucchini (courgette), marrow, spaghetti squash, and many other types of squash.
In Great Britain they are called courgette flowers.

I picked a few yellow squash blossoms to add to my eggs the other morning. So delicious! Thanks for the inspiration. Will try butternut squash flowers soon probably. ( :

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

Thank you very much @steemkitchen! Trust me, the Hunger is always with me! Hahaha :p

Fantastic healthy food post! Great recipe and photography, and excellent nutritional info. Feel free to tag your healthy recipes with #makeithealthy, where they will be curated in the weekly Make It Healthy Project Magazine :-)

Thank you very much for the info, @woman-onthe-wing!

oh wow! how have I missed your posts? I did not see them :( so sad! This photography is so beautiful, the colours are so vivid and the dark background amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82