Yes its a whaleshares pie but youre going to love it!!

in #food5 years ago

Whalepie made from plants thats so good it will make you forget about meat!

This is a great recipe if you have omni family or friends coming over, everyone can eat the exact same dish and you will be sure that everyone will enjoy. This is a big recipe for a big meal, this will feed 5 -6 adults with sides added. The Veggimite, clove and cocao nibs give this pie a really deep and complex flavour palate and a hint of vanilla makes this a dish that is sure to be a winner. You can serve this like we have with garlic and thyme roast potatoes. Another great side for this is hasselback potatoes and roast carrot and parsnip chips (or to our american friends fries). So enough of the blurb and on to the making.

🌱🥑🍆🌿🥕🍄🌶️----------------🌶️🍄🥕🌿🍆🥑🌱

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans of young green Jackfruit in brine (not sweetened).
  • 3 king oyster mushrooms (about 150g)
  • 1 med red onion
  • 4 cloves fresh garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp veggiemite
  • 10 cloves
  • 15g raw cocao nibs (you can use cocao powder just be sure its pure and not full of sweeteners)
  • 1 Tbs Dark soya sauce
  • 1 Tbs mixed herbs
  • 4 large Carrots
  • 2 Tbs gravy (lots of "meat" gravy is actually vegan just check the labels)
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla essence
  • Fresh ground sea salt and black pepper
  • One roll of puff pastry, Jus roll is vegan friendly and a lot of the own brand supermarket ones are too, just check your ingredients list.
  • 🌱🥑🍆🌿🥕🍄🌶️----------------🌶️🍄🥕🌿🍆🥑🌱

    Method:

    1. Slice onion and chop garlic, add to a medium heat large pot with 2 tbs oilve oil and cook till soft.
    2. Slice a the king oyster mushrooms into your desired thickness and add to the pot cook for 2 - 3 min.
    3. Add the drained and pressed Jackfruit.
    4. Add the cocao nibs, cloves, raisins, salt and pepper and mixed herbs cook for a further 5 min. (add vanilla essence now if using)
    5. In a separate jug make up the Gravy to a thick consistency, just looser than a paste, with hot water (the amount will differ by brand but my one took about 500 ml hot water)
    6. Add the thick gravy to the pot, stir in well, cover and allow the pie filling to simmer for 15 - 20 min on a med heat. Be sure to take a min and enjoy the rich aroma in your kitchen!
    7. Take an oven proof dish approx 12" x 6 ", lightly grease the base with olive oil and transfer the pie filling to the dish.
    8. Un-roll your puff pastry and cover the pie, with any left over pastry why not make some decorations for the top? I made a #whaleshares one.
    9. Brush the puff pastry with your favourite plant mylk.
    10. Place pie in a preheated oven at 180 deg c for about 30 mins or until the pastry has browned and crisped up.


    🌱🥑🍆🌿🥕🍄🌶️----------------🌶️🍄🥕🌿🍆🥑🌱

    I do hope you have enjoyed this recipe, if you do try it out I would love to hear your feedback, good or bad. Please let me know in the comments section below.
    Thank you.
    This is my #fruitsandveggiesmonday contest by @lenasveganliving, @plantstoplanks, Well guys?? You ready to get some?

    🌱🥑🍆🌿🥕🍄🌶️----------------🌶️🍄🥕🌿🍆🥑🌱

    All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. They are typically taken with my Samsung S9.


    If you would like you can vote for my whaleshares witness here https://whaleshares.io/~witnesses I am in the list but you can also go to the bottom of the page and type in moonunit and click "share". You can read my witness post HERE!

Sort:  

I wish I could get a taste of this delight yumyumyum

It is delicious if I do say so myself.

Very nice, best whale pie I have seen, I need to hunt down some jack fruit to give it a try.

Yes indeed

Thanks for checking it out. I just realized I didn't get back to anyone on the post. Apologies.

A truly hearty meal of veggies! I could go for a serving of that right now since it is quite chilly here again today. :)

Just amazingly delish

It is soooo good. Sorry I took so long to get back to you.

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Man, I don’t see you for months then you come in the ring just killing it in the kitchen. Great to see you @moonunit. This pie looks properly delicious. I love all of the side suggestions too. It sounds like it should be on a menu somewhere 😉

You know I am such a cabbage I forgot to get back to everyone lol. I am so bad!! Glad to hear you like it, honestly it is super tasty and really handy to make too, for a pie. 😉

Such a turd 🤡. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85