Cooking for 7 - Lemony chicken stew with giant couscous

in #food5 years ago (edited)

https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/lemony-chicken-stew-giant-couscous - The BBC has some great recipes of all types with reasonable instructions, although they could be clearer in some places.

I don't usually cook, but with my step family moving in we've had to all do some extra chores to keep the house in order. Everyone one of us is taking one day a week where we cook a meal of our choice for the family and I chose something a bit different. It was really fun preparing it, but the amount of ingredients and the preparation of particularly the lemons was probably the hardest and the messiest bit. The meal itself was really delicious and really filling, its nice to eat different meals and broaden your test buds because whats the point in eating the same safe stuff. If you want to cook this meal i'll leave the link to it at the top of this article.

Here is some pictures of me making it:

This is the amount of ingredients, we x2 the recipe as it stated it served 4

We then then chopped and cooked the onions whilst I continued to chop the huge amount of chicken

As you can tell we used a huge amount of chicken, I think it was one kilogram in total and I struggled to keep it all on the board

This is all of it together before we covered it, we had to do a separate meal for my step-dad who doesn't like too much sauce, bit annoying as we had to make sure it didn't burn

After being covered for 30 minutes I added the giant couscous which absorbed some of the crazy amount of sauce

__After letting the couscous cook for 10 minuets it was ready to eat and it smelt delicious as well as tasting amazing!

This was my first proper attempt and I think it went pretty well although the lemon wasn't as strong as I would have liked and certain other flavors slightly overpowered it, next time I will do better.

Any suggestions for next Tuesdays meal when i'll be cooking again?

Sort:  

Thank you mrultracheese! You've just received an upvote of 69% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by KPH from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76