Farro Bowl

in #food6 years ago



I have always cooked brussel sprouts by roasting in some olive oil and adding almond slivers and dried cranberries during the last few minutes in the oven. Add salt and pepper, of course. Loved it!

My friend must have heard me wondering out loud what else to do with brussel sprouts and decided to share a recipe she read from Southern Living magazine. It's called Farro bowl with curry-roasted sweet potatoes and brussel sprouts.

First of all, I had no idea what farro was. Looked it up online. According to Wikipedia, it's an ancient grain meaning the grain has not been subjected to selective breeding. A type of hulled wheat and supposedly loaded with protein.

Got a small bag of the said grain and made a meal as per the recipe attached. It was quite good. The farro takes some time to cook and tasted like pearl barley. Will make again using rice instead.

You are welcomed to try the recipe. The right column of the snapshot I received is partly obliterated but I think you would have no problem following the recipe.

Happy cooking!

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43