Post #7: Catch and Eat That Salagubang!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

B97640BE-81DC-4451-B2E5-066894E20990.jpeg

During your childhood days especially those who lived in the province, have you ever tried to play salagubang (Beetle in English) wrestling? Those moments where you have to shake the tree so that these insects would fall off? Then, you have to tie their wings with a thread and let it fight with the other salagubang? Well, I thought they were meant for that but I got disoriented when a new found friend of mine brought a bunch of cooked salagubang!

A8C66AE5-8E95-453F-A361-7C8F0FE9DF15.jpeg

It was summer that time when my new found friends (they are my long time friends now by the way) and I went to a beach trip. This guy (I name him Don Den) who is from Nueva Vizcaya, a part of Cagayan Valley located in the Northern part of Luzon brought his all time favorite, cooked salagubang.

The recipe? Try to guess.

Clue: Ingredients are soysauce, vinegar, and garlic

41DFE45B-ED73-4355-9F04-A90CB9B5B803.jpeg

Brainy you! It was cooked in adobo recipe minus the overflowing sauce. Can you imagine it now? Yummy, right? Not really at the first try.

To prove that I am an adventurer to my new found friends, I tried it. First bite was really disgusting (I regret trying it at first) because I can feel the salagubang’s crunchy tiny legs. But before completely chewing it, I first sipped the juice extract from the beetle’s delicate body. The texture was like eating chestnuts and prunes at the same time where you can feel the skin slowly detaching from the body itself.

F222FED4-070D-40F3-9E3F-AD7A01760D6D.jpeg

There was no certain odd taste aside from the seasoning added to it which makes it a little bit salty. It was just like you’re eating peanuts to keep your mouth busy. I took 2-3 salagubang then after that I can’t pretend anymore that I am liking it. Point is, at least I tried. Hehe!

A541801C-4C9B-4D21-99AD-A15BE98FD08E.jpeg

0C8786EF-80A4-48CA-9A7A-1D6F60923711.jpeg

But careful, these edible little friends of ours are very high in cholesterol so I suggest Not to eat too much (if you like it after your first bite). Aside from that, they sell it a little bit pricey especially during salagubang season which is in the month of May.

26EE7372-8276-48FC-B00B-DB30ECF7E1AE.jpeg

If you are curious to try it, be sure to let someone who knows how to cook it. It may taste very different if it is not cooked properly.

I am still looking forward to eat more exotic food from different places to add it on my list. So, if you have any suggestion feel free to comment down!

Ciao!

Sort:  

Oh great memories with this. U r still eating very good.

aww so brave of you to eat it! ^_^

Haha!! I was!

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | June 5 2018.

Congratulations @mynameisaira! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I can’t imagine eating this, coz the only exotic food I eat was balot, but still unique and good post

Mine is isaw! Hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83