Vegan "Matcha-Monsta" [Green, Nutty Icecream]. A Decidedly Delicious Dessert.

in #food6 years ago

20180509_150243.jpg

Inspired by the memories of our trip out to Melbourne's own Matcha Mylkbar over three months ago, I thought you all needed to be green with envy!

Let's avoid the usual BS that goes along with food blogging.

..Says the guy who wrote an entire article on a single flavour of vegan cheese. Woops... it was really good. Like REALLY. You should read that article after you read this one.

The stuff you need (for two serves).

20180509_144948.jpg

Break up a few super-dooper ripe bananas into pieces and place them in a ziplock bag in the freezer overnight. I keep HEAPS on hand. At one time I had over thirty bananas in the freezer. True story, yo.

Well, I'm going to assume I don't need to tell you about bowls and spoons and other basic kitchen paraphernalia. However, one essential piece of kit is a freaking high-powered blender. If you bought it at Kmart, it's not powerful enough. I'm going to tell you right now, that while you will definitely baulk at a price tag over $1000, an expensive blender will change your world. If you doubt me, try any of my recipes using a borrowed one and you'll [insert your choice of hyperbole here].

Pantry time.

  • 1/3 cup mix of almonds, pistachios and cashews
  • 300 grams of frozen overripe banana pieces
  • A small handful of ice
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract liquid or paste.
  • 1/2 tsp matcha green tea powder (Japanese origin to avoid nasty chemicals the Chinese are using. Farming practices are largely unregulated there.)

You may also want..

  • Rice malt syrup for drizzling over the top

The stuff you don't need.

Literally everything else. But you might need peanut butter. Shhh!

Time to make some magic!

  • In your thermomix or other 'psychospeed blender', throw in the mixed nuts. I chopped mine on speed 6 for 6 seconds. You want them about a few millimetres in diameter. The goal here is to add some texture and crunch. Don't go overboard, you're not making nut mylk.

20180509_145528.jpg

  • Scrape out your blender and set your nuts aside.

  • Once you've got the nuts out (the blender doesn't need to be clean, mind you), throw in all the banana chunks and the ice. I turned the thermomix to speed 6 or 7. You'll hear it change sound as the pieces break down from a banging to a more uniform sound. Keep it going until it's smooth and creamy. I have found that if I turn it up to max, the banana is flung against the side of the blender and isn't incorporated properly. A slightly slower speed for longer is the best bet.

  • Add the cinnamon, vanilla and matcha to the blended banana and ice. Be sure you add them to the side and not on top of the blades. Start blending slowly to incorporate the powders and vanilla. Increase the speed over time until you've got a green paste.

20180509_150032.jpg

Mmm! If it isn't green enough for your liking, add more matcha.

  • Pour the nuts in that you set aside earlier and slowly mix them in on a slow speed. This will only take about 5 to 10 seconds.

  • Scoop out into a pretty bowl or parfait glass to make it look all fancy, like. If you're into presentation, I suggest taking two or three pistachios and roughly chopping them to sprinkle on top. Dust the icecream with a pinch of cinnamon.

I have a peanut butter problem.

20180509_150514.jpg

I have to confess that I added a big dollop of peanut butter to the banana mix prior to the nuts going in. Of course, take it or leave it.

Be sure to make this if you're in need of brownie points. It's got a unique look and tastes unreal.

20180509_150154.jpg

How amazing is the light in this shot? Thanks amazing afternoon sunlight!

Drizzle on some rice malt syrup. If you dare!

20180509_151107.jpg

The syrup will increase it's viscosity when it hits the cold icecream and stays put.

Well, you've made it!

(Actually, you watched me make it. And now you're watching me eat it.)

20180509_151207.jpg

I'd love to hear what you think in the comments. Maybe I'll try turmeric next time!

All the best,
Nick.

All content is original.

If you've enjoyed my content, please UPVOTE, FOLLOW AND COMMENT.

This post was not self-upvoted nor have I been paid to promote any products or services.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 28 SBD worth and should receive 69 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I love nice cream so much. I've been making acai bowls every day since I got my new vitamix.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71