MILLET PORRIDGE WITH CHERRIES, CHOCOLATE AND COCONUT 🍒🥥🍫 | Healthy & Easy Recipe

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi friends! I hope you are all having a lovely weekend. I decided to start today off with some porridge. But not any porridge. I decided to use millet for the first time in a while and absolutely loved it!

I’ve had millet porridge a couple times before I went vegan but since then I’ve never made it. I guess that’s because I like all the other porridges so much that it’s hard to choose which one to have. I made it with almond milk and it turned out super creamy. I love the special texture millet gives. It’s not as smooth as other porridges but still very creamy and that gives a different feel to it.

I’m not going to lie to you, millet porridge itself tastes pretty bland (still good thought, don’t get me wrong) so that’s where toppings come in. I feel like toppings are such an important part when it comes to porridge or smoothie bowls. You can control everything with them. Taste, texture, volume, sweetness, richness and I could go on and on with that.

To finish the flavour of my porridge I’ve decided to use some home-grown cherries, dark chocolate and shredded coconut. Cherries give a nice fresh feel, chocolate melts over the warm porridge and coconut just nicely combines all of the flavors together.

This millet porridge not only tastes delicious but is also really good for you. Millet is high in:

  • vitamin B
  • calcium
  • iron
  • potassium
  • zinc
  • magnesium
  • fats
  • protein
  • dietary fiber

Pretty nutritious, right?

Since it has so many nutrients, vitamins, and minerals it provides many health benefits such as:

  • protects heart health
  • controls cholesterol levels
  • prevents diabetes
  • aids in digestion
  • prevents cancer
  • detoxifies the body
  • prevents asthma


Recipe | Millet Porridge 🍒🥥🍫


Ingredients:

• 1/3 cup millet
• 1 ½ cup almond milk
• 3 dates, chopped (or more depending on how sweet you want it to be)


Method:

1/ To a small pot add millet, almond milk and dates. Bring to boil and cook for 30 minutes. Stir a few times in between.


2/ When the millet is cooked transfer to a bowl and top with toppings of your choice. I used some fresh cherries, chocolate and shredded coconut. Then dig in and enjoy!


Easy to make, nutritious and delicious ;)

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed today's recipe! Have a wonderful day!

Nina ✨

Sort:  

Delightful way to start your day @nina.ser

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-02T19:13:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 359.45/200.00
Total Photos: 61
Total comments: 7
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a fabulous combination, cherries, chocolate and coconut! Can't go wrong with that. well done!!!

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75