Pickled Mustard Seeds

in #food5 years ago (edited)

Pickled Mustard Seeds-9.jpg

I first learned how to pickle mustard seeds in a cooking class I took years ago.

Pickled Mustard Seeds-7.jpg

The pickled mustard seeds were part of a bigger recipe as they were intended to go with a pâté.
Below is a small mound of pickled mustard seeds set atop a pâté with tamarind gelée.

Pickled Mustard Seeds-6.jpg

Check out my Pâté and Tamarind Gelée recipe.

Pickled Mustard Seeds-5.jpg

This pickle recipe got me hooked because it worked excellently with the pâté. The sweet and sour profile of the pickled seeds cut the fattiness of the pâté so nicely. Additionally, the seeds brought a fun, textural layer as they sort of pop in your mouth.

Pickled Mustard Seeds-2.jpg

They're so versatile! Over the years, I've found many other uses for it. They can easily find their way on a charcuterie platter or a fresh salad. They're also amazing when sautéed with leafy vegetables like bok choy or kale for added flavor and texture. I've tried them with other meat dishes especially fatty ones and they are a lovely accompaniment. I've also added them to paninis and cold sandwiches and have been happy with the results.
There really isn't a long or difficult process involved in making pickled mustard seeds even though it sounds like it. The ingredients are inexpensive and readily available. The recipe I'm sharing below yields about 1 1/2 cups. A little bit goes a long way.

Pickled Mustard Seeds-1.jpg

Pickled Mustard Seeds

1 cup yellow mustard seeds
1 1/2 cups water
1 1/4 cups rice vinegar or other vinegar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon kosher salt

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a simmer over low heat. Cook the mustard seeds, stirring frequently until soft, about 45 minutes to an hour. -

--

Have you pickled mustard seeds before? If so, I’d love to hear from you.

Or if you have any questions or suggestions, feel free to drop me a line.

Bon Appétit!

Sort:  

I still remember when a cousin of mine put his whole cock inside the mouth of a baby just like that, my cousin is now in jail, he killed his wife after a beating, as a child he was very violent, my cousin was 6 years old, and I still remember how he recounted what he had seen during one dawn on entering his parents' room, my uncle penetrated my aunt's mouth with his penis, apparently my cousin had been impacted so much by that scene that now he wanted to recreate it with whoever, that's why when seeing that black baby, helpless and marginalized before a group of white people, decided to put the whole cock into his mouth, the baby began to cry and then vomit , my cousin and I fled quickly, in the distance I could see a white mother, holding the black baby still crying, take care of your babies and protected them from other babies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05