GHEE vs BUTTER|WHICH ONE IS BETTER FOR YOU?

in #food5 years ago

Gheeee.jpg

STORY AT-A-GLANCE
Ghee has been used in traditional cooking for eons, as an oil and as an ingredient, but it’s also an Ayurvedic go-to for massages and herbal ointments, and as a medicinal to remedy rashes and burns.

Making ghee starts with butter made from cow’s milk and involves separating liquid fats from the milk solids and removing the milk solids, a method many believe is healthier than butter.

Ghee, which is heated longer than most other types of clarified butter, is darker and has a richer, nuttier flavor, as well as a higher smoke point, making it easier and healthier for sautéing — and you can make your own.

Due to compounds such as conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) and a fatty acid known as butyrate acid in ghee, your inflammation and coronary heart disease risk may be reduced and your digestion improved.

In ghee, the milk is separated from the fat, so the lactose as well as casein is reduced, making it better than butter if you have allergies or sensitivities to dairy products.
https://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2018/05/14/is-ghee-better-than-butter.aspx

This is me, lactose intolerant. For years I have enjoyed milk, butter,cheese, ice cream, and yogurt. I was not paying attention to the indigestion, bloating and overall pain from eating dairy products. I felt that it was just part of life. I use to make macaroni & cheese with emphasis on the cheese and butter. I stop buying margarine years ago and I was a pure butter person. My cakes and pies were full of butter and milk, boy did they taste good.

I didn't realize that these dairy products were causing me some health issues until I gave up dairy. I stopped eating all dairy products April 2017 while on the Whole30, https://whole30.com/whole30-program-rules/ eating program. I no longer had indigestion, bloating, and terrible gas pains. I was able to breath at night when I went to bed. No more Afrin every night to clear my nasal passage so that I could breath and go to sleep. Giving up dairy was the best thing for me.

The Whole30 and Paleo eating programs cuts out all dairy except ghee. Ghee keeps me going since so many other food items are not allowed on these eating programs. Ghee is like liquid gold. I put it on my baked sweet potatoes, on my vegetables, my homemade bread and basically in all recipes that call for butter.

Ghee is really easy to make right at home, although you can buy a jar of it at most health foods stores or Wal-Mart. I prefer to make mine at home, I am a proponent of making all that I can at home in order to control what is in it.

To make ghee you will need butter, a crock pot, fine cheesecloth or coffee filter and sieve for straining, and glass jars for storing.

Place butter in crock pot on low temperature. I have a small crock pot that is dedicated for ghee and I can put 2 lbs. of butter in it. Cook with lid off to allow the water to evaporate out of the butter.
Ghee.jpg

I cook mine on high, because my crock pot is not too powerful, for about 2 hours.
Ghee-2.jpg

After about 3 hours it will look like this.
Ghee-3.jpg

When it is finally ready the foam on top will be slightly brown and you will be able to see the milk solids that have fallen to the bottom of the crock pot.
Ghee-5.jpg

Now comes the hard part, the straining. Scrape the foam from the top of the ghee. Be careful handling the hot crock pot. Pour the ghee through the filter and sieve slowly.
Ghee-7.jpg

See how golden and clear the ghee is without all the other stuff.
Ghee-10.jpg

When the ghee cools down it becomes a beautiful yellow color. The ghee can be stored at room temperature. When ghee is melted it becomes clear again.
Ghee-12.jpg

Ghee is a better choice for me, than butter. Try making some ghee to see for yourself.

Paleotwist Logo.jfif

Sort:  

This is so awesome! Dandays and I were discussing what ghee actually was. Both of us eat full plant based, aside from fish and the occasional egg and he was convinced ghee was not an animal byproduct while I was convinced that it was. I suppose a quick google search would have resolved our dilemma quickly but what’s the fun in that 🤷🏼‍♀️ Great post @paleotwist 👏👏

Thank you @puravidaville. I wish I could get my husband to eat fish every now and then. He will eat eggs, but no meat at all.

Yes, fish is so good especially fresh, sushi grade salmon from Alaska, my all time favorite. It makes it a little more difficult when our other half doesn’t eat all of the same things we eat. My husband won’t eat eggs anymore so I haven’t made them for awhile. I think I’ll have some this morning. Thanks for the reminder 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78