FRESH CILANTRO IN THE WINTER?

in #food5 years ago

I never knew!


Sure, maybe it's not full-blown winter already, but it has been snowing, sleeting, and freezing multiple times. Back in Wisconsin, once the garden got covered in snow, you wouldn't see it again until spring, so I never knew this.

Even after a few freezes, we are still getting fresh cilantro out of the garden, and it doesn't look wilted or harmed at all. While preparing tacos the other night, Mama-Pepper was blown away to see me bring in a giant handful of cilantro fresh from the garden. It tasted incredible, and one of our lambs even got in on the action and nibbled some down.

FRESH CILANTRO VIDEO

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-still-enjoying-cilantro

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Now you know!...:)...

knowledge is power!

No doubt!...:)...

But you can still make cilantro ice-cream by adding some leaves to some snowcones😁😋🍃⛄❄

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! I never thought of that!

I can't wait to read the articles you will write about cold frames and greenhouses when you get them.

Fresh salsa, in the winter?!!

Yeah, got quite a project with the greenhouse setup I'm thinking of, but thanks to @weetreebonsai and @freedompoint / @freedomtowrite I've got two hoop house frames to start with!

I was just thinking today in my garden how fast the new cilantro was growing despite the cooler weather - it’s a real all year round crop 😍❤️🍀🌈🦋🌴

Yeah, I was thinking about planting some in a cold frame and seeing how it does!

Go for it-good plan 💚

Boy I sure do love me some cilantro on some tacos!!!! I also didn't know it could handle that much cold! Good to know for next year!

Ah this makes me dream a little. Though in New York's winter I'm not sure we'll have cilantro growing this late in the season (what am I talking about... we had that one freez and now it's almost t-shirt weather again!) Next year we'll concentrate on a bigger garden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11