GETTING CREATIVE WITH EATING SNAKE GOURDS

in #food5 years ago

Gotta eat 'em if you grow 'em...!


Part of why Snake Gourds are one of my top three garden plants is that they provide a lot of tatsty food for my family. On their own, they taste incredible, and often I just add a little butter to them and heat them up, n seasoning even needed.

That hearty mix of garden vegetables was lunch the other day. But... I wanted to enjoy some Snake Gourds for dinner too, so I had to get creative to avoid monotony. Sure enough, that old brain of mine had a storm and soon we were eating "Taco Snake Gourds." It tasted really good, and Mama-Pepper (along with the Little-Peppers) gave it a standing ovation. Here's a few more photos. Enjoy!

TACO SNAKE GOURDS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

You’ve got to look at my crazy snake gourd!
403yhpsgqf.jpg

We didn’t know how to cook this one. We are afraid it might bite! LoL

I love tacos so "Taco Snake Gourds" would be something that I would try! What other "interesting" ways will you try to eat them??

You have me intrigued now, I've been seeing your posts about this
"Snake Gourd" for some time now. Down where I am from, when
You say the word GOURD, we automatically think of things you
Let dry, cut a hole to remove the seeds and hang up for birds
To nest in. I know that squash and pumpkins and others
Are all gourds, but we just don't think of them the
Same way. If I ever get a space of dirt of my own
Where I can grow stuff from the dirt up, I will
Investigate these things. They look like they
Would provide a lot of food for the time
Invested. Good Stuff @papa-pepper.

So we are, at home, mama and me are all that's left.
We are squash lovers. Are these similar in taste and texture?

Posted using Partiko Android

With all those veggies you reap, does the family eat a lot more veggies than meat or do you try to even it out? Do you raise enough of your own animals to provide all your meat or do you buy some still?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73