TASTING MY FIRST JOSTABERRY EVER

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Finally, tasting the fruit of my labor!


Ever since I got my first Jostaberry last year, I've been waiting to taste this berry. Finally today, I was able to do so. Here's the video of my taste test!

OKAY - IT'S TASTY, I'LL LET THE PLANT LIVE!

After spending about a year growing in a five gallon bucket, my oldest Jostaberry plant finally got to taste the real soil earlier this year. I also picked up a couple of friends to keep it company, so I've got three of these right now. Since I like the taste of them, I plan on propagating a lot more as we move forward.

WHAT'S A "JOSTABERRY?"

First off, if you want to be proper about it you'll need to pronounce it with a "Y" sound instead of a "J," hence calling it a "Yostaberry. Obviously, I'm not quite as "proper" in my video. Moreover, this is a very cool bush in the ribes genus, made by combining three different species, two types of Gooseberries and a type of Currant. It was orginally released to the public in the late seventies.

I would say that the flavor reminds me more of Gooseberries than it does a Currant, and I rather enjoyed it. It tasted good fresh to me, but I'd like to try it in a jam or jelly too. Like many things that we are growing, the only way to see if we'll really like them is to see how they grow and what they taste like, and this one passes my test! I can't wait to see how this plant does for us as we continue.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-jostaberry

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

So many berries to go by.
Thanks we have you here
to keep us informed about them. Do they sell them in
the market?
Will look for it.

Not sure if you could find them for sale.... they can't really be machine harvested, so not really a bulk crop for mass-farming.

Hmmm...........interesting berry....:)...

Hey man been a while since I checked in. I haven't tried a Jostaberry before. Will have to try it one day.

Sure thing. I recommend it. Also, thanks for dropping by!

This is the first time I heard of this berry, we don't have it here in India.

Great testing of jostaberry.enjoy your busy life.video review is well.

Hahahaha again you never fail ti amze us. This is my first time to see those kind of berries! Looks Yum!

But isn't it just a berry?

LOL! I got it.

Yust a berry!

howdy there papa-pepper! this was another interesting video because I had no idea what the Jostaberry was so that's very cool, and it's good that they taste good too. hey someone left a rifle on the ground in that one photo..God bless you guys!

This is just beautiful. At least I've known how to pronounce the name. Keep up the good work.

Thank you! Glad to hear that you liked it!

It's nice to finally have state of your hard works especially when it's over a long period of time.

Thanks for also explaining what "JOSTABERRY" is. Saved me the stress of going to make a search over wiki.

Until next time @papa-Pepper

Yeah, I figured I might as well explain what it was to people! Thanks!

Yeah, I figured I
Might as well explain what it
Was to people! Thanks!

                 - papa-pepper


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27