THE OREGON GIANT PEA

in #food5 years ago

This is one of my new favorites.


I tried planting around five different pea varieties this year. I had two goals. The first was to use up some of my older seeds while they were still viable. The second was to see which varieties grow best in my location. Of the kinds I planted, I think that the "Wando" and the "Oregon Giant" are two that I'll definitely be keeping.

In fact, I like them so much that this year I'll basically be growing them for seed, to make sure that I've got a good supply of new seeds to plant next year. While the Wando looks like many of the pea varieties that I've already been exposed to, the Oregon Giant was a new one for me. Just check out the size of the pods. Have you ever grown Oregon Giants before?

OREGON GIANT PEA PHOTOS

Until next time…

Bless others and be blessed!!!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

I have not heard of either variety but there are a lot of them out there! I am growing peas as well this year. I got the seeds from a friend and never found out what kind they were. They are growing well and have pods on them...I'm going to have to get a couple of pictures of them for my next garden update post!

Cool! Please do! I'd love to see what they look like.

Those are huge! I'd be interested to see how big the peas inside of the pod get at maturity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06