TRYING OUT SOME OF OUR RECENT HOMEMADE FOOD

in #food6 years ago

This was a tasty night!


Besides our regular meal last night, we enjoyed a few tasty foods that we had been preparing recently. The one was finally testing the quail eggs we pickled a week ago and also frying up the Largemouth Bass I just caught.

WE MADE IT... CAN WE EAT IT?

Here's that Largemouth Bass that I caught. For a long time now, I've enjoyed fresh caught fish as a food source. Even early on in our marriage I taught @mama-pepper that if the refrigerator and the wallet are both empty at the same time, it's time to go fishing!

@Mama-pepper fried this fish up with some salt, pepper, and butter in a pan after I filleted it. This is one of my favorite ways to prepare fish because it is so easy and simple. Oh yeah, tasty too!

See, all the @little-peppers enjoyed it too! It added some good, fresh meat to the meal that we enjoyed!

PICKLED QUAIL EGGS TOO!

We gave these quail eggs a week to "get pickled" and then finally gave them a try. These eggs work great as a snack or side dish anyway when we hard-boil them, and the pickled ones were just that much tastier!

Just like with so many other foods that we prepare ourselves, the @little-peppers gobbled these tasty treats up too. Of the three jars that we made, one is already gone, since it ate the whole thing up within minutes of opening it!

Each time that we find a simple, tasty food that we can make, catch, grow, or produce ourselves, it's a step in the right direction. Last night was no different!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-homemade-food

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Fat bass!...And happy family to boot!

Sweet!!
fish is part of the menu and the egg.
I do remember.
Having a good time.
Enjoy

isn't it strange, when you find something that is tasty it doesn't last very long, it just seems to disappear, all by its self.

Cool. Happy family. Proud of you any day. Keep keeping it real sir. Regards to @little-pappers.

@eurogee of @euronation and @steemstem communities

complementary food suitable for families, eggs and fish, very much in love children @papa-pepper, happy family, ☺️

Never had Quail eggs, but I have had Ostrich meat - and boy was it GOOD!

Omg.... Wonder if you will have been able to digest it if you knew what it was. I'm planning on going to Kenya.... The thought of asking for the special of the day just crossed my mind.... But I fear the special that day might be snakes... Even though I've met a couple of people that swear there's no meat better than it.

Now you make me wanna try it. :|

It had a real fancy French name and I didn't feel like choosing. That meal was so good, then I asked him what it was and he said Ostrich. I almost had a Cow! :) Always choose your food folks! We went to this other place and they put mayonnaise on the French Fries. I sent it right back...

Hahaha... Thanks alot for this reply. Made my morning. Cheers mate

Ever have Ostrich eggs?

Not yet, I'm sure that would be quite a meal! I had the Ostrich when I was in Kenya and did not know what it was as I asked for "the special of the day." :)

Cool! I've tried the meat too, since I used to know an Ostrich farmer up in Wisconsin.

This is really nice. Always giving great ideas. I will do well to experiment with getting eggs "pickled". What do you recommend as contents in the jar?

I am so freaking jealous of you now ,@mamapepper sure knows some great dishes.
Together the littlepeppers look beautiful as honey.☺

I love pickled eggs, but never made them with quail eggs. I like to put beets, along with some of the beet juice for color, onions and hot Italian cherry peppers for some bite. Eating the first after 2 weeks if you can wait that long.

Self sufficiency is the key @papa-pepper . I admire your lifestyle. Very organic. Your kids are fortunate to have a papa like you. I think mother earth loves you too!Photo_1527994692377.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76