YOU WON'T FIND THIS AVOCADO AT WALMART

in #food5 years ago

I've never encountered this kind before.


Isn't it interesting that with over 50 varieties of avocados growing around the world, most people can only recognize the "Hass" avocado, or other more popular varieties?

These were picked by a lady we met in Texas, right off of the tree. When she asked a group of four adults if we knew what they were, only I recognized them as an avocado. I'm not even sure of the exact variety, but I was glad to get a chance to not only see it, but also to eat it! Enjoy the video!

PAPA-PEPPER MEETS A NEW KIND OF AVOCADO - VIDEO


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-different-avocado

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

Sort:  

Did Somebody Say "Guacamole"? @papa-pepper...............

Cool. Never buy avocados from the store. Because they are destroying rainforest and farmers lands that need to feed their own. Just because you need a stupid avocado.

I am so sad to hear of this reality. There could be zero tolerance to harming people or land on this planet if we just choose to live that way. Avacados are far from stupid imo. They are a blessed treasured gift. Blessings to you & yours @konelectric

These hand picked ones from somebody's yard down in Texas were excellent. I'm going to try to grow the seeds to go back and plant them in Texas at a relatives house so they can grow their own and cut out the middlemen too!

Well, the truth is, there aren't any varieties of avocados.

In order to get a Hass Avocado, you have to graft a Hass Avocado limb to some other avocado root. So, a Hass Avocado isn't a variety, they are all fruit off of the same tree grafted onto many roots.

Avocados do not breed true. Every avocado has a mother and a father. And that produces a unique avocado for every single tree.

The guy who bread Hass Avocados was known to go around planting avocado seeds (in other people's back yards) to see what they would grow.

Right, much like plums or other fruit varieties. Thanks for chiming in with that!

I love avocados

I hear that!

I wish we could grow avocados here! Avocados are delicious. These remind me of one type we can buy in certain fruit markets here that are more juicy and of a slightly different flavor than the usual black Haas avocados.

This really interesting, @papa-pepper please what's an avocado cause I seem not to know it and quite looks like a guava to me.
Well, I could see that you enjoyed your avocado, hope you kept mine !!.

It is different than a guava, but very tasty.

Those look a lot like Nabal avocados or possibly a Reed avocado.
Both tend to be a bit more watery and grow in more spherical fashion.
Nabals have a thinner skin as well, but they are both delicious!
Gotta love home grown avos.

NabalReed

This one certainly had a thinner skin. Whatever it was, it was delicious!

There's some great comments in this thread. I am sad to hear folks are suffering so we have avacados in our grocery stores so far north. I completely adore avacados. They could be about one of my fave foods but yeah hearing land and ppl are harmed for monoculture farming is really not good. At all. I dream of an indoor micro-climate space that can grow my own sweet avacado trees! Yummy! Great post! 🥑

monoculture farming is really not good.

It is a terrible thing for sure. I love the real variety out there in the world and plan on growing all that I can.

I hope the avacado seeds you got take root and that you can grow some great trees down in Texas at your family's land. That will be totally awesome!! I wonder how long it takes the trees to bear fruit. #growingislife Have Fun!!

Looks delicious! Back in 2012 I started eating avocados on peanut butter toast. It was just an experiment, but I found that I liked it. The avocados have since gotten too expensive for that, but I still eat some on a salad from time to time. I have a tree growing in a pot inside, but if it survives, it will be another 3-5 years before producing any fruit.

Nice! Glad that you at least have a little tree started!

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71