Homemade Cranberry Sauce

in #food5 years ago

Just because holiday season is over, doesn't mean you can’t treat yourself to cranberry sauce. This tangy, sweet sauce is so simple to make. Not only is it perfect on biscuits and breads, homemade cranberry sauce is great baked into muffins or oatmeal bars. Or try spreading it on fresh waffles or pancakes, it will only make something yummy even tastier!

Ingredients:
-2 cups cranberries, frozen or fresh

  • ⅔ cup sugar
  • ¼ cup light brown sugar
  • ⅔ cup fresh orange juice
  • ⅓ cup water

1.Combine water, orange juice, and sugars together on a saucepan and heat over medium high. Whisk occasionally and bring to a boil.

  1. When sugars are fully dissolved, add cranberries and return to a boil.
  2. Reduce to medium-low heat and cook until berries have burst and mixture begins to reduce. This should take about 10 to 15 minutes.
  3. Reduce heat to low, and simmer for additional 10 minutes. Cook for 5 more minutes if you prefer a thicker sauce.
  4. Transfer to glass or ceramic bowl/jar and allow to cool before serving on your favorite breads or using in your dessert recipes.

The cranberry sauce can be stored in the refrigerator for up to two weeks. It will thicken as it cools.

Sort:  

nice recipe I love eating it with a cheese cake. Makes them more delicious

We will try this. I'm sure it will be delicious. It's going on file.

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 43

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

I have never seen fresh #cranberries in Australia, but I think we can get them frozen, I will look next shopping day. I wonder if this #recipe could use honey instead of sugar as a sweetener. If I can lay my hands on some cranberries I might give it a try. What do you eat it with?

You can absolutely use honey, I bet that would be delicious! When I substitute honey I usually reduce the amount that I would be using in sugar by 2 tablespoons.
I like it on fresh biscuits or bread, but I whipped up this particular batch to use in a cake.

OK great thanks, it sounds like you can use it like any other fruit jam as well as a condiment for savoury meals. I’m looking forward to trying some.

Look loke fab . Nice dish good one keep it up.

Posted using Partiko Android

So Tasty. looks pretty. Cranberry is considered a group of evergreen bushes. by eating it, there is a lot of benefit on health.

Its look so taste. Today I am trying this at home

I am also found like recipe this website https://desilady.live/categories/

In this tutorial they are make Cranberry Sauce in yellow.

are you using any food color? May I use any food color in this Item?

Interesting, I've never seen yellow cranberry sauce before! With the bright color of the cranberries, it's really not necessary to use food coloring.

This is a good and simple recipe. Wonder if I can make it with coconut sugar.

Looks delicious.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05